Kansas Auto Insurance

Home > States > Kansas Auto Insurance

Kansas state flagWhen state lawmakers created the auto insurance system in Kansas, they broke the mold and went with a system that’s different from almost all other states in the country. In Kansas, auto insurance follows what is known as “no-fault insurance”, which means that when a driver is in an accident, their own insurance company will pay out claims for medical treatment, property damage and the like as opposed to having to pursue claims through the driver that caused the accident. The state has a number of different mandatory insurance policies which drivers must have at a minimum to be able to legally drive in the state.

Kansas Insurance Laws And Requirements

Kansas-Minimum-Insurance-Requirements

Bodily Injury Liability insurance covers the medical treatment costs for the other parties in an accident where you are at fault for causing the accident. Other costs covered by this insurance policy include rehabilitation costs, lost wages and funeral expenses. State law requires that drivers purchase a minimum coverage of $25,000 per person, per accident and $50,000 for all parties in a single accident.Kansas map

Property Damage Liability insurance is similar to BIL insurance except it covers costs associated with damages to the other person’s automobile and surrounding property when you cause an accident. For instance, if you were to cause a crash which damages another person’s car your Property Damage Liability insurance would pay out claims for body work and other repairs. Minimum coverage for Property Damage Liability is $10,000.

Personal Injury Protection insurance is the “no-fault” part of the Kansas system. This policy pays out for medical treatment and injury costs for the driver that holds the insurance and their passengers, regardless of who is at fault for the accident. A minimum of $4,500 per person, per accident in PIP coverage is required, as well as $900 per month for loss of income and $2,000 for funeral expenses. It’s recommended to increase your PIP coverage by as much as you can afford, to avoid any unnecessary out of pocket expenses should you be involved in an accident.

Finally, Kansas law also requires that drivers purchase Uninsured Motorist Protection insurance. This insurance acts much like Bodily Injury Liability insurance, except it covers the policy holder and their passengers when they are in an accident caused by a driver with no insurance. Like BIL, the mandatory minimum coverage for UMP is $25,000 per person, per accident and $50,000 for all parties in a single accident.

Kansas Auto Insurance Rates

On average, Kansas auto insurance rates are very competitive with those in the rest of the country. Statewide, the majority of drivers in Kansas actually pay less than the national average of $1440 per year, coming in at around $1267 or about $105 per month. Drivers in Kansas’ major cities will of course pay a bit more, thanks to the increased accident and theft risk involved. Those in Overland Park are looking at an average of $1588 per year for auto insurance, and drivers in Wichita will pay an average of $1715 per year.

Theft And Accident Statistics

Vehicle accident trends in Kansas are looking very positive, which will help bring down car insurance rates throughout the state as fewer crashes mean fewer insurance claims and payouts. In 2008, Kansas saw a statewide total of 65,858 crashes, with 385 fatalities reported. These numbers represent a considerable drop from just a year prior, during which a total of 70,589 crashes and 416 fatalities were reported. It’s very rare to see a nearly double-digit drop in crash totals in just a single year; it’s very clear that law enforcement initiatives to help encourage safer driving, as well as Kansas drivers showing more care on the roads, are leading to a reduction in crashes, injuries and fatalities.

News is also pretty stellar when auto theft rates in Kansas are considered. In 2009, just 5,954 vehicles were reported stolen throughout the state; this compares to 7,418 a year prior and is a significant decrease. Auto thefts in Kansas peaked just a few years ago in 2005, when a record 9,338 automobiles went missing. Since then, the state has seen a 36% reduction in auto thefts, which is spectacular given that it took just four years to accomplish. Again, this drop can be attributed to an increased law enforcement presence deterring auto thieves, as well as drivers going the extra mile and ensuring their vehicles are protected from theft.

With thefts and crashes trending downward in Kansas, it’s likely the state will continue to enjoy reduced auto insurance premiums for quite some time. Don’t forget that there are a number of Kansas car insurance companies on the market, and many will have discounts available for individuals that qualify. Spend a bit of time doing research, and you’re likely to save money on your auto insurance in Kansas!

There’s no better site than 4AutoInsuranceQuote.com to help you get the best rates for your Kansas auto insurance. To get started with a custom price comparison, scroll back up to the top of this page and enter in your ZIP code. That’s all it takes!

Kansas Auto Insurance Agents

Additional State of Kansas Auto Insurance Resources

Be the first to write a comment.

Your feedback