Utah Auto Insurance

FREE Car Insurance Comparison

Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She works as an associate editor and writer for 4autoinsurancequote.com for over a year and enjoys creating content that offers expert advice on car insurance topics.

Full Bio →

Written by

Leslie Kasperowicz holds a BA in Social Sciences from the University of Winnipeg. She spent several years as a Farmers Insurance CSR, gaining a solid understanding of insurance products including home, life, auto, and commercial and working directly with insurance customers to understand their needs...

Full Bio →

Reviewed byLeslie Kasperowicz
Former Farmers Insurance CSRhttps://res.cloudinary.com/quotellc/image/upload/insurance-site-images/4autoins-live/6ea5d860-leslie-kasperowicz.jpg

UPDATED: Apr 28, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Utah FlagUtah is one of the most popular destinations for tourist across the United States. The state of Utah is home to one of the best outdoor recreation environments in the world as well as numerous other breath taking sights. Unfortunately, not all that glitters is gold. When it comes to automobiles, Utah auto insurance rates are slightly higher than the national average for several reasons.

utah auto insurance

Utah Auto Insurance Requirements And Minimums

In Utah, the state liability coverage minimums are:

  • Bodily Injury $25,000 per person
  • Bodily Injury $65,000 per accident
  • Property Damage $15,000 per accident

Take a look at how Utah’s minimum rates compare with surrounding states.

View as image

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage minimum:

  • $3,000 coverage per person

Optional coverage options in UT include:

  • Comprehensive Coverage
  • Collision Coverage
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
  • Rental Car Reimbursement Coverage
  • Roadside Assistance / Towing and Labor Coverage

One of the main reasons that Utah auto insurance rates are higher than the national average is due to no fault insurance. Utah is a no fault auto insurance state. No fault insurance means that a driver who is involved in an accident without proof of fault is reimbursed for their costs by their own insurance company. A driver is also unable to use the legal system to attempt to recover damages from another party that was involved in an accident. Drivers in Utah who accrue more than $2,000 in medical bills due to an accident may qualify for the use of a civil case in order to recover damages. However, this should be reviewed with a lawyer who is familiar with Utah state law.

Utah auto insurance requires 25/65/15 coverage. This amount of coverage is the minimum amount that is required by the state of Utah and can be increased by the policyholder. Many policyholders choose to increase the amount of coverage that they have in order to protect themselves from further liability.

The $25,000 minimum coverage amount applies for liability insurance per person for a bodily injury. When an accident occurs, each individual would be covered by $25,000 in liability insurance from the accident. The other driver and passengers in both vehicles are covered by this policy. $65,000 in maximum coverage is allowed for bodily injury in each accident. This is the maximum amount that an insurance company will pay out for all claims unless the limit is raised. $15,000 in property damage is covered by the state minimum insurance. This means that if during the course of an accident a driver hits a $500 sign, the cost will be paid out of this policy.

Drivers should strongly consider raising their coverage from the state required minimum. The limits that are in place in the state of Utah are adequate for a minor accident but could leave a driver without recourse for large accidents. Drivers who even have a minor accident may exceed the minimum amount of coverage that the state requires.

Another minimum requirement that the state of Utah enforces is personal injury protection insurance or PIP. This policy requires all insured drivers in the state of Utah to have $3,000 in medical coverage. This policy will cover the medical costs of a driver who is involved in an accident. Drivers often increase this coverage to $10,000 or $25,000 to ensure that all of their medical costs are covered.

Uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance is also available from automobile insurance companies in the state of Utah. This insurance policy will allow drivers who are involved in an accident with a driver who does not have valid insurance to receive compensation for their losses. This is a policy that every driver should consider because it only requires a few extra dollars per month but can save tens of thousands of dollars if a driver were involved in an accident.

Collision coverage is not required for vehicles in the state of Utah. Drivers who have a fairly new vehicle or a vehicle that is on a lease/loan may be required by their finance company to take out collision coverage. A collision coverage policy covers a driver in case their vehicle is involved in an accident with another vehicle, object or rolls over. Replacing parts after a crash can cost thousands of dollars for drivers who are not insured by collision coverage.

Comprehensive coverage is also available for drivers who want to be covered for numerous reasons. A comprehensive coverage policy protects a vehicle against theft, vandalism, arson, glass damage and numerous other incidents. Drivers who have a vehicle that is on a lease or financed by a bank may want to purchase this coverage. Banks may also require it as part of the lease or financing agreement.

Luckily the insurance rates in Utah are much cheaper in comparison to the other states in the nation.

View as image

We can also take a closer look at the ZIP codes within the state to see how rates changed based on different areas.

View as image

Unsurprisingly, rates increase as we get to the larger cities of Salt Lake City and Ogden.

There are a lot of factors that auto insurance companies take into consideration when determining your rates. Take a look at our overview here.

View as image

While many of these factors are simply based on your own driving record, two things that affect even the safest of drivers are age and gender. As with most states, males typically pay higher auto insurance rates than females.

View as image

Enter your zip code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Utah Auto Insurance rates by Company

Though the state boasts very cheap auto insurance rates overall, let’s take a look at how rates vary between some of the largest companies.

View as image

But which companies are the largest, holding the most market share percentage in the region?

View as image

Utah Auto Insurance Quotes

Utah requires that all drivers have valid auto insurance to be on the road. A driver who is caught without valid auto insurance can be convicted of a misdemeanor and have to pay a large fine. While Utah does require no fault auto insurance, there are a number of auto insurance companies who provide competitive rates for this type of insurance.

If you are a Utah driver and ready to start getting quotes to insure your automobile, scroll back up to the top of this page and enter your zip code to begin!

Utah Auto Insurance Agents Directory


Enter your zip code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Additional State of Utah Auto Insurance Resources

Are you looking for free insurance quotes?

Your one-stop online Car Insurance guide. Get a Free Quote Now!

(855) 898-5028
State Minimum Auto Insurance Rates Nationwide
Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates by State
Monthly Utah Auto Insurance Rates by ZIP Code
Factors Affecting Auto Insurance Rates in Utah
Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates by Age & Gender in Utah
Utah Auto Insurance Rates by Company vs. State Average
Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates by Age & Gender in Utah
State Minimum Auto Insurance Rates Nationwide
Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates by State
Monthly Utah Auto Insurance Rates by ZIP Code
Factors Affecting Auto Insurance Rates in Utah
Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates by Age & Gender in Utah
Utah Auto Insurance Rates by Company vs. State Average
Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates by Age & Gender in Utah