UPDATED: Mar 13, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.
For almost all of us, car insurance is something that you just can’t argue with. This is a legal requirement and if you want to be able to drive, you’re going to have to pay the toll. Well, in this case, that’s the toll and your car insurance…
But there are some magical lands where this is not the case. If you want to be free of sky-high car insurance prices forever, then you should consider moving to New Hampshire. New Hampshire is one of the very few states in the world that has no* car insurance laws – now that’s what I call the land of the free!
But Wait, There’s a Catch!
There are caveats you see. (Aren’t there always caveats?)
Even though you don’t legally have to have car insurance in New Hampshire for example, you will be held liable for any damage that you might cause to others.
So if you don’t have car insurance and you crash into a lamppost, then you’ll need to pay the council or the city to fix that lamppost.
Worse, if you crash into someone else then you might have to pay for their car to be repaired as well as any medical costs that may be incurred.
And then there’s the small matter of your own car and your own medical costs.
It might seem tempting to go jetting off thinking that ‘you never crash’ but it’s just not a good idea on any level. In order to be safe, you have to avoid crashing every single time you go out. But to find yourself in trouble, you only have to make one single mistake. Those are not good odds.
Don’t tempt fate and don’t take the risk! Enter your zip code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates. Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Enter your zip code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Car Insurance in New Hampshire
So for these reasons, most residents in New Hampshire will still opt to purchase car insurance. In fact, did you know that the uninsured driver rate in New Hampshire is lower than the national average? There’s probably a political statement to be made here, but we’ll leave that to someone else!
When doing this, you will be required to meet certain criteria. Specifically, once you do have insurance, you will be required to make sure it includes:
Let’s look at each of these things in more detail:
Liability insurance is what helps you to pay for the damage you cause to others – both in terms of repairs and medical bills. This cover should pay out up to $25,000 for bodily injury per person, $50,000 for bodily injury when multiple parties are injured and $25,000 in property damage.
Your insurance must also cover your own medical costs and this needs to be good for up to $1,000. Which isn’t actually all that much!
What’s interesting is that your insurance also needs to cover those drivers that don’t have it. This might feel somewhat irksome but it’s something you’ll be glad to have if ever the issue comes to light. So in this case, if someone should crash into you and they don’t have insurance, your own insurance should be able to cover those costs and should match your liability coverage in terms of value.
Mandatory Insurance Filing
Slightly complicated matters, is that there are some instances where it is still a legal requirement to have insurance in New Hampshire.
Insurance filing applies mainly to drivers that have either been involved in accidents or that have been convicted of traffic violations such as a DUI/DWI.
If you are required to buy insurance, then you will need to fill out an SR-22 form which can be provided by your insurance company. The SR-22 is a guarantee that you will hold the insurance for a certain period of time, which is normally 3 years. If you’re unsure whether this applies to you, then you can find out by looking at your NH driving record.
So there you have it! New Hampshire is the land of the free automobile, but with great freedom, comes great responsibility!