AAA Auto Insurance Review [2022]

AAA insurance, or American Automobile Association insurance, provides AAA auto insurance, life, homeowners, and AAA travel coverage for AAA members. One of the main perks of AAA auto insurance is the AAA roadside assistance service for members in trouble. Compare AAA auto insurance quotes with quotes in your area using our free tool below to save.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by Rachel Bodine
Insurance Feature Writer Rachel Bodine

Leslie Kasperowicz holds a BA in Social Sciences from the University of Winnipeg. She spent several years as a Farmers Insurance CSR, gaining a solid understanding of insurance products including home, life, auto, and commercial and working directly with insurance customers to understand their needs. She has since used that knowledge in her more than ten years as a writer, largely in the insurance...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Leslie Kasperowicz
Farmers CSR for 4 Years Leslie Kasperowicz

UPDATED: Jun 16, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

The American Automobile Association, known as “AAA” for short, is not only an insurer As a non-profit organization made up of clubs across the country, members join this organization to open up different insurance options and travel services to them – including, of course, auto insurance.

What is the history of AAA?

In 1902, several motor clubs banded together to deal with a lack of roads that were suitable for cars. These clubs were the Chicago Automobile Club, Automobile Club of America, Automobile Club of New Jersey, Long Island Automobile Club, Rhode Island Automobile Club, Philadelphia Automobile Club, Princeton University Automobile Club, Automobile Club of Utica, and Grand Rapids Automobile Club – and together, they form what we know today as the AAA. AAA then merged with the American Motor League, which had been formed in 1895, but retained their current name.

Originally, AAA only offered driver’s training, road maps, and hotel guides. It wasn’t until the 1960s that they started selling insurance and started expanding into other travel-related services.

Still, their expansion did not veer them off course from their main goal: improving roads, helping travelers, and increasing safety (with things such as traffic safety programs taught in schools). Notably, AAA’s traffic safety programs have helped equip teens and young drivers with the know-how to keep themselves safe on dangerous roads.

Compare over 200 auto insurance companies at once!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What makes American Automobile Association different?

As it is not strictly an insurance company, AAA provides customers with many more benefits and services beyond just auto insurance. Now, they offer things such as passport photos, travel maps, travelers insurance, and travelers’ checks (in addition to policies).

Although their insurance premium discounts and savings might not be as enticing as other dedicated insurance companies, it is worth noting that AAA’s discounts are not restricted to only insurance rates; they provide discounts on many other items and services, such as lowered hotel rates for stays at their partner-hotels.

The key differentiating factor is that AAA offers roadside assistance, and is found all over the United States. Today, AAA’s roadside assistance is so easily accessible that “calling Triple A” is equivalent to “calling roadside assistance.” People who travel a lot, particularly across state lines or out of the country, should use AAA for their coverage because of the specific options that are available for travelers.

Is AAA a good car insurer?

AAA is one of America’s most popular car insurers. While AAA doesn’t have the low costs of some of its cheaper competitors, it offers more features than most other major providers – including one of the best roadside assistance programs in the United States.

Generally, drivers are happy to get coverage through AAA – especially if you appreciate features like roadside assistance, which can quickly pay for itself with one mishap.

In terms of advantages, drivers across the United States enjoy excellent roadside assistance service with AAA as well as multiple membership discounts, including discounts on hotels, cheaper travel booking, cheap movie tickets, low-cost car rentals, cheap prescriptions, and more.

In terms of disadvantages, drivers with new vehicles that are not prone to breakdowns may not feel like they’re getting their money’s worth with AAA: the company tends to charge higher insurance premiums than its competitors while offering extended benefits. If you own a new vehicle that isn’t expected to break down any time soon, then you may feel like you’re paying too much for your policy.

Some AAA customers also complain that AAA discounts aren’t as powerful as they used to be. Hotels might offer AAA-style discounts even if you’re not a AAA member, for example. Those who are involved with other organizations or programs may qualify for the same discounts. In other words, it’s not quite as useful to have AAA as it once was.

Financial solvency is a crucial part of shopping for car coverage. In that category, AAA is one of the best. AAA Auto Insurance has an A+ rating with A.M. Best, which is the main agency in charge of ranking car insurers by their financial solvency.

J.D. Power, the main ranking organization for car insurers, also typically awards high ratings to AAA. AAA ranked third in a 2016 J.D. Power customer satisfaction survey, for example. Only two other car insurers in the United States had better claims satisfaction than AAA.

One of the main reasons to get AAA auto, however, is for the roadside assistance. Today, most car insurance companies offer some type of roadside assistance at an added cost, although AAA might be the best at it. AAA’s roadside assistance will arrive at your vehicle, tow it to a certified repair shop nearby (AAA has a list of repair shops), and even contact a family member on your behalf. Furthermore, AAA will automatically complete a vehicle claim for the incident and arrange for a rental car while your car is in the shop. Drivers who want the best possible roadside assistance may be willing to pay an extra premium for AAA.

It’s important to note that only AAA members can buy AAA car coverage. If you want AAA car coverage, then you’ll need to have an active AAA membership (priced at $50 to $100 per year, depending on your plan). Obviously, you will need to pay car premiums on top of this fee. If you cancel your membership or fail to pay your membership fees, then you will also lose your car insurance coverage.

Additionally, some AAA members will need to have their cars physically inspected by a AAA representative before the company extends car insurance coverage.

What do the customers have to say about AAA?

AAA has fairly positive reviews from customers. They have a “good” rating of 3.3 out of 5 stars on Consumer Affairs and 3.4 out of 5 stars from WalletHub. The higher ratings are usually given for their extensive coverage.

Indeed, customers say they have good roadside assistance but that their rates are higher than other companies. There are also complaints that they don’t always have great customer service representatives.

Reviews state that AAA’s roadside assistance coverage is great for roadside annoyances such as a flat tire or for opening cars with the keys locked inside. So while customers lament their high rates, AAA’s excellent roadside assistance service more than make up for its higher insurance premiums.

Compare over 200 auto insurance companies at once!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

What’s our final word on AAA?

Ultimately, AAA is one of the best car insurers in the United States. However, the company’s superior claims satisfaction comes at a price: AAA car policies tend to be more expensive than many competing companies. Of course, some AAA policyholders are happy to pay slightly higher car policy premiums for vastly superior customer service. Plus, many AAA policyholders also appreciate the emergency roadside service, which is often seen as the best roadside assistance program in the country. Plus, you can lower the costs of AAA insurance by taking advantage of discounts or bundling your life coverage with AAA auto and home insurance.

Reviews
for AAA

4.12 (2,930 reviews)
1
February 28, 2022

tom_pop

Breach of Trust -- Raises Premium Without Notifying Consumer

AAA increased my annual premium by $319 a year after just one month on the plan -- and without giving me any notice. I only happened to catch it because I saw the cost of my next bill was significantly higher. I feel like AAA has a pretty stellar reputation, so I was shocked when this happened. When I cancelled my policy, I was hit with a huge fee as well, but I was so discouraged by this customer service experience that I just wanted out -- even...
AAA increased my annual premium by $319 a year after just one month on the plan -- and without giving me any notice. I only happened to catch it because I saw the cost of my next bill was significantly higher. I feel like AAA has a pretty stellar reputation, so I was shocked when this happened. When I cancelled my policy, I was hit with a huge fee as well, but I was so discouraged by this customer service experience that I just wanted out -- even if other insurers are going to charge me similar rates.
5
July 25, 2021

CCADE

Excellent, Fast Professional & Friendly Service

Locked Out Of Car. [REDACTED NAME] Did A Excellent & Professional Job! & AAA Service Was Exactly Worth My Premier Membership For Our Family. We R Very Grateful For His Service. On Such A Hot Day He Gave Service With A Smile👏Thank U [REDACTED NAME] For Being Such A Dedicated Young Man To Your Job. We Will Tell Others About AAA! & 👌EXCELLENT SERVICE.
1
April 2, 2021

vintagemx465

Home Owners Insurance

I have been a AAA member for over 27 years (one way or another). I received a letter saying they no longer could insure my home because the dangers of my house location. I called and asked what Dangers and they could not answer after several attempts (intimidation)? I later received another letter stating I had to have a video review of my home (invasion of privacy). After the video, was contacted by phone stating they wanted to see permits (hara...
I have been a AAA member for over 27 years (one way or another). I received a letter saying they no longer could insure my home because the dangers of my house location. I called and asked what Dangers and they could not answer after several attempts (intimidation)? I later received another letter stating I had to have a video review of my home (invasion of privacy). After the video, was contacted by phone stating they wanted to see permits (harassment). In that same phone conversation, I told the person that I wanted to see the renewal amount and then we could talk. I received my renewal and AAA gave me a 40% increase on my policy. Bottom line is after the intimidation, invasion of privacy and the harassment, I will not renew my homeowners, auto and Roadside Service with this terrible company... Just check the reviews on AAA's reputations on paying claims (or lack of). They like "Kicking the Can Down the Road" (a claim), but really kick the policy owners to the curb.
1
January 24, 2021

Always_Cold

Good customer service

I made my call about 10 am or so today (Sunday 1/24/2021). I was assisted by a AAA member, and I let her know that my mother's car has a dead battery and for them to come and take a look at it. My mother is also a AAA member. The AAA battery was purchased on 2/7/2020 (it is less than a year old) by me on her behalf, and I have told her to limit going out since she is immunocompromised. A Deerfield (company that is contracted by AAA) gentleman [RE...
I made my call about 10 am or so today (Sunday 1/24/2021). I was assisted by a AAA member, and I let her know that my mother's car has a dead battery and for them to come and take a look at it. My mother is also a AAA member. The AAA battery was purchased on 2/7/2020 (it is less than a year old) by me on her behalf, and I have told her to limit going out since she is immunocompromised. A Deerfield (company that is contracted by AAA) gentleman [REDACTED NAME] came out and asked me how long the car has been sitting there. I told him about 2 weeks. He flat out refused to replace my battery which is under a 6-year warranty after showing me that it is a bad battery (after he hooked it to his machine; it said BAD battery in RED). I talked to [REDACTED NAME], a AAA customer service employee, who was wonderful and assisted me (on behalf of my mother) in every way while [REDACTED NAME] was rude to [REDACTED NAME] and me. [REDACTED NAME] called his supervisor [REDACTED NAME] who was also rude to me and [REDACTED NAME]. [REDACTED NAME], the Deerfield supervisor, told me and my mother to drive around and if the car goes dead again, to call AAA back. How ethical is it of Deerfield to let my elderly mother drive around on a bad battery waiting for it to fail while putting her in an unsafe position (should she get stalled in a bad place; and what if I was not there to help her since I'm a healthcare worker and can't just leave)? This is just begging for bad things to happen. [REDACTED NAME] connected me with the Resolutions Dept; I talked to [REDACTED NAME] in the Resolutions Dept and [REDACTED NAME] apologized and said he would send someone out to replace the battery since he himself agreed that the battery was under warranty. In about 45 mins or so I got a call from Auto-to-go who said they will NOT replace my mother's battery. So, I called AAA AGAIN. I spoke to [REDACTED NAME] in the Resolutions Department who tried to help and said [REDACTED NAME] (who is her supervisor) would call me as he was a supervisor in the Resolutions Department. 2.5 hours later, no call. So, I called AGAIN and spoke to [REDACTED NAME] who said she couldn't do anything but put in a complaint against Deerfield and the "Service Monitoring Dept" would be calling me in about 5-7 business days. She did end up giving me a complaint #; she did do at least that much for me. But obviously, that didn't help me in my current situation. I and my mother have been loyal PLUS members for 13 years and have never encountered such terrible customer service from AAA or Deerfield. Is the Resolutions Dept in name only because no one has been able to help me/my mother or been able to resolve this? After an hour long wait (I was on hold that whole time), I was finally able to talk to the supervisor in the Resolutions Dept, [REDACTED NAME], who I thought would help me. But my luck - not only was [REDACTED NAME] rude, but she was also of no help. She said I need to get my (mother's) battery recharged myself by driving to Autozone with no offer to tow us there- seems like AAA was putting me and my mother in harm's way (they didn't care if the battery or me and/or my elderly mother was stalled on the road) just so I could get off their back - at least [REDACTED NAME] made it seem like that. She said "we have to follow the battery protocol." I told her all she had to do was offer to tow the car to the nearest AAA and have them charge the battery for us, but she didn't. I had to come up with that idea all on my own. Later, she claimed it to be her idea. Unbelievable. My mother and I are very shocked and terribly disappointed in the customer service shown by the Resolutions Department. It is now almost 4 pm with no resolution and me calling them 4 times, and on hold for an hour each time I called. They must think I have nothing better to do than be on hold. [REDACTED NAME], then, tells me to call again in the morning so they can tow my mother's car to a AAA shop and get the battery recharged. That was all she had to do to help a customer out, but she didn't even do that! [REDACTED NAME] was continuously clacking on the keyboard and who knows what all she was typing/saying about me. She didn't even have the courtesy to answer me when I asked a question; she said "I'm making notes about this." She just continued to type without apologizing as she never answered my question. Unclear why they have people like [REDACTED NAME] as supervisors in a Resolution Department. Maybe I should be a supervisor at AAA because here would have been my response, and the response I was hoping for (that never happened). It would have also been a way to have kept a 13-year loyal member happy. What should have been said was: I'm so sorry this happened to you/your mother's car. Let's fix this by towing you to the nearest AAA location, getting your battery charged; if it's bad, we'll replace it; if it's not, it is charged now and you will not have any further trouble. Once charged, let's tow it back to your house so you don't have to worry about this. Now THAT would be good customer service to a loyal member that would have kept me and my mother a loyal member, and I would give AAA stellar reviews. Now instead I've got to call AAA in the morning, have my mother's car towed, have to worry about missing AAA's call as I'm seeing patients (and murphy's law dictates that's bound to happen), and have to worry about how to get the car back as I'll be at work and will not be able to get to it in time. Being a healthcare worker/essential worker, I do everything in my power to protect my elderly parents, one of whom has cancer, by telling them not to go anywhere unless absolutely necessary. In these covid times, when people are sick, AAA expects us to be on the road and not leave our cars in our driveway (which means we are doing the socially responsible thing in not going out and socially distancing per CDC recommendations). It also means you can't get sick from covid or go out of town or in non-covid times, on a vacation -if you do and your car is sitting there, it hasn't followed "the battery protocol," and AAA will not be able to help you, nor will they replace your battery that is less than a year old and under a 6-year warranty. I mean why do I or my mother even have AAA especially if they can't help me or my elderly mother when we need them the most? Now I have to call AAA AGAIN tomorrow regarding the tow, and I can only hope I am available as I'm a healthcare worker who is actually taking care of covid patients. I will NEVER be buying AAA batteries -they will die on you before the year is up; and I certainly will not be renewing mine and my mother's AAA membership. I currently have a very poor opinion of AAA which I have never before had in the 13 years that I have been with them; this would have been my 14th year had I renewed. They have shown me in more ways than one that this membership, nor I/my mother, as a customer is worth much to them.
5
January 22, 2021

kathleenl1963

Best Insurance Ever

The price for this homeowners and auto insurance is fantastic. When I switched from Liberty Mutual I saved more than 1000 a year.
5
January 17, 2021

Random_

AAA Review

The company was a good company but the customer service was very irritating, it was unbearable and I am considering to switch companies.
4
January 10, 2021

ted_mulkey

my pro and con with AAA

it was a very good experience there are multiple discounts that are amazing and quite helpful and their costumer service is good but it is a little bit expensive
5
January 7, 2021

Sherry1982

How I feel

AAA has been amazing and any time I need there help they are there with answers. They offer so many good deals with there road side assistance
5
January 7, 2021

Trustme

AAA Insurance!

This company was very good because it gave us protection and security of our autovehicle. I would recommend this insurance company.
4
January 2, 2021

Qyla_W

Great!

They’re pretty good. They make me feel valued as a customer when I speak to customer service. They’re a keeper.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review and Rate

Please tell us about your policy type

Policy Type ?

Please select a `Policy Type!`

How did you buy this policy?

Please select `How you bought this policy!`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Please select `How long ago you bought this policy!`

Do you currently have a policy with this company?

Please select `If you currently have a policy with this company?`

How long ago did you buy this policy?

Share your experience with this company

(Min. 100 Characters)
(Max. 60 Characters)

Rate your experience with

Buying Process

Renewal Process

Customer Service*

Policy Price*

Did you submit a claim?

Claim ServiceIf applicable

How long ago did you buy this policy?


Company*Overall Rating

Likelihood to recommend to family or friend*

A few more questions

What does this insurance company do well?

What can this insurance company do better?

Which best describes your household? (select all that apply)

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.4autoinsurancequote.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare over 200 auto insurance companies at once!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption