Metromile Auto Insurance Review: Can you get affordable quotes? (2024)

Metromile auto insurance reviews find a popular pay-per-mile insurance policy from this newcomer to the industry. Metromile car insurance rates may vary depending on the Metromile device.

UPDATED: Feb 2, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Feb 2, 2024Fact Checked

Maria Hanson

Insurance and Finance Writer

Maria Hanson grew up with a unique passion and understanding of both the automotive and insurance industries. With one grandfather in auto mechanics and another working in insurance, you could say automotive insurance is in her blood. Her love of research and finance serves her well in studying insurance trends and liability. Maria has expanded her scope of expertise to home, health, and life i...

Insurance and Finance Writer

Scott W. Johnson

Licensed Insurance Agent

Scott W Johnson is an independent insurance agent in California. Principal Broker and founder of Marindependent Insurance Services, Scott brings over 25 years of experience to his clients. His Five President’s Council awards prove he uses all he learned at Avocet, Sprint Nextel, and Farmers Insurance to the benefit of his clients. Scott quickly grasped the unique insurance requirements of his...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Feb 2, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Feb 2, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Feb 2, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Feb 2, 2024Fact Checked
4.1
4autoinsurancequote.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Metromile

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$12

A.M. Best rating:

N/A

Complaint level:

Low

What You Should Know About Metromile

What You Should Know

  • Metromile auto insurance is a pay-as-you-drive (PAYD) coverage
  • You can receive collision and comprehensive coverage from Metromile.
  • Your ZIP code determines Metromile rates.

Metromile is one of few companies that offer true pay-per-mile coverage. This Metromile device is a  usage-based coverage charges drivers on the number of miles they travel per month. Our Metromile review will explain how the company works and how understanding auto insurance options can save you money.  We’ll cover Metromile rates and how Metromile quotes are different from traditional companies.

Metromile might not be available in your area, but you can still save. Just enter your ZIP code in the free comparison tool above.

What is Metromile auto insurance?

Metromile is a pay-as-you-drive (or pay-per-mile) insurer that started in 2014. The company has $140 million in total assets and provides coverage in eight states. They provide a variety of coverages and issue rates based on the number of miles you travel per month.

Metromile reviews their claims like other car insurers. Contact the Metromile phone number at 1-888-595-5485 to file a claim. You can reach the Metromile customer service line at 1-888-311-2909.

What are Metromile rates?

We searched for Metromile rates but unable to find any that were available. Metromile costs depend on a low monthly rate plus the miles you drive. The miles you drive are then multiplied by cents per mile.

Your base rate could be $25 per month. Metromile will calculate your miles by cents. For example, one mile equals eight cents. Therefore, 300 miles for the month would be $24. Add $24 to your $25 base rate, and you’ll get $49 for the month. For exact numbers, you would need a Metromile quote.

The national average for auto liability insurance is about $47 per month. Check out the national average for auto insurance from the National Association of Insurance Commissioner’s (NAIC) research.

National Average Auto Insurance Rates by Coverage Type
Basic Coverage TypesAverage Annual Auto Insurance RatesAverage Monthly Auto Insurance Rates
Comprehensive$148$12
Collision$326$27
Liability$555$46
Full$1,029$86

While comprehensive and collision are cheaper on average, liability coverage is required. Depending on the company, your coverage rates could be more expensive. According to the Insurance Information Institute, there are different financial responsibility limits for each state.

How does Metromile work?

Like most usage-based insurance options, Metromile uses a telematics device called the Metromile Pulse. This device plugs into the On-Board Diagnostics (OBD) port of your vehicle. As you’re driving, the Pulse will send information into the Metromile Mobile App. Metromile’s daily cap is 150 miles per day (250 miles per day for Washington customers).

This video explains how you can install a Metromile Pulse into an OBD port.

If you want to enroll in Metromile insurance, you’ll have to get a quote from their mobile app or website. You’ll also have to agree to “electronic delivery.” This means you consent to send personal and vehicle information to Metromile electronically, mostly through the Metromile Mobile App. Once you set up a Metromile login, you should be able to access details, such as Metromile proof of coverage.

What do Metromile reviews say?

Metromile has 171 reviews on GlassDoor and it was rated Best Place to Work in 2018. Metromile’s average GlassDoor review is 3.8 out of five stars. Metromile is a BBB accredited business with an “A+” rating. However, reviews of Metromile aren’t as good elsewhere. Metromile’s Yelp rating is 1.88 out of five stars. Metromile reviews from 2019 are being replaced by 2020 Metromile reviews on most sites.

What about Metromile customer and employee reviews? According to GlassDoor, 62 percent of former employees recommended Metromile jobs to a friend, and 73 percent of former employees approve of CEO Dan Preston.

The most reliable Metromile customer reviews come from the Google Play Store and Apple App Store. Metromile’s Mobile App rating is four out of five stars in the Google Play Store and 4.7 stars in the Apple App Store.

What is Metromile auto insurance availability by state?

Metromile has applied for a license for all 50 U.S. states, but as of now, only provides coverage in eight:

  • Arizona
  • California
  • Illinois
  • New Jersey
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Virginia
  • Washington

They may expand in the near future.

What are available Metromile auto insurance coverages?

Metromile offers several car insurance coverage types. Here’s a list of coverages that are available through Metromile.

  • Bodily Injury Liability
  • Property Damage Liability
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist
  • Collision
  • Comprehensive
  • Personal Injury Protection/Medical Payments
  • Rental Reimbursement

Comprehensive and collision coverage are offered with a choice of deductible at $250, $500, and $1000. Metromile provides a discount for insuring multiple vehicles. Discounts will vary by state. Metromile roadside assistance is also available. Ask Metromile about discounts and coverage that are available in your area.

To check out multiple pay-per-mile auto insurance premiums near you, enter your ZIP code in the free comparison tool below.

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

#1 – Is Metromile any good?

Metromile appears to be one of the best pay-per-mile car insurers in the U.S. Although a lot of drivers have a Metromile vs. Geico debate about which is better, it’s ultimately a matter of opinion. The best way to measure Metromile and its competitors is to compare rates and coverages offered.

#2 – Does Metromile track speed?

Yes. Metromile’s Pulse device tracks speed, distance, and how much you spend on fuel.

#3 – How much does Metromile charge per mile?

It depends on where you live, your vehicle, and your age. How much Metromile costs per mile is usually calculated in cents.

#4 – Does Metromile drain your battery?

Metromile Pulse has little effect on your car battery. Just to be safe, though, unplug your Metromile Pulse after each trip.

#5 – Who owns Metromile insurance?

The owner of Metromile is Dan Preston.

#6 – Does Metromile have full coverage?

Yes, though will have to pay a deductible from $250 to $1,000.

Compare over 200 auto insurance companies at once!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Frequently Asked Questions

How does Metromile auto insurance work?

Metromile offers pay-per-mile coverage, meaning your insurance rates are based on the number of miles you drive. They provide a device called the Metromile Pulse that tracks your mileage and charges you accordingly.

What types of coverage does Metromile offer?

Metromile offers various coverage options, including liability, comprehensive, collision, and roadside assistance. They also allow you to choose your deductible amount for comprehensive and collision coverage.

How much does Metromile charge per mile?

The cost per mile with Metromile varies based on factors such as your location, vehicle, and age. The cost is typically calculated in cents per mile.

Is Metromile available in all states?

Currently, Metromile provides coverage in eight states. However, they may expand their availability in the future.

Can I get a quote from Metromile?

To get an accurate quote from Metromile, you can use their mobile app or website. The quote will take into account your specific details and provide you with the estimated cost based on your mileage.

Maria Hanson

Insurance and Finance Writer

Maria Hanson grew up with a unique passion and understanding of both the automotive and insurance industries. With one grandfather in auto mechanics and another working in insurance, you could say automotive insurance is in her blood. Her love of research and finance serves her well in studying insurance trends and liability. Maria has expanded her scope of expertise to home, health, and life i...

Insurance and Finance Writer

Scott W. Johnson

Licensed Insurance Agent

Scott W Johnson is an independent insurance agent in California. Principal Broker and founder of Marindependent Insurance Services, Scott brings over 25 years of experience to his clients. His Five President’s Council awards prove he uses all he learned at Avocet, Sprint Nextel, and Farmers Insurance to the benefit of his clients. Scott quickly grasped the unique insurance requirements of his...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Metromile

4.12 (150 reviews)
1
May 8, 2023

Dove

Make sure you keep all correspondence... they will cheat you

I cancelled my policy as instructed but kept getting charged. I contacted them several more times and they still did not cancel. I finally got a sensible agent who canceled my policy (finally!) but he told me that he could not refund my money even though I had canceled a month ago because he didn't like something on the declarations page of my new insurance. I challenged him on that. He then said I would have to provide proof that I canceled (e...
I cancelled my policy as instructed but kept getting charged. I contacted them several more times and they still did not cancel. I finally got a sensible agent who canceled my policy (finally!) but he told me that he could not refund my money even though I had canceled a month ago because he didn't like something on the declarations page of my new insurance. I challenged him on that. He then said I would have to provide proof that I canceled (even though he saw on his screen where I had tried to cancel and had contacted them multiple times about it). He said I was never officially canceled because I did not respond to an email?? Huh? So I found the email and proved to him that I did indeed respond. If I hadn't saved that email or missed that email they would not have not have refunded my money. Since fair is fair, I asked him what they would do for me for putting me through all of this and he said "nothing" in so many words. So if they mess up and I can't prove it, they will keep my money. But if I prove they messed up and caused me all this grief, they get off scot free. Thankfully I never had to file a claim with them (see the reviews on that).
1
April 10, 2023

TiredOfMetromile

Company has a few quirks

Metromile offers low prices if you seldom drive. But the strange thing about Metromile is that, while they put a 'Pulse' device in every insured car that transmits the GPS location while parked and records every trip, they don't appear to be certain about where your car is 'garaged'. I have 2 insured cars and one is driven by my daughter. She recently took a road trip and stopped off at her mother's house in another part of our state. This trigge...
Metromile offers low prices if you seldom drive. But the strange thing about Metromile is that, while they put a 'Pulse' device in every insured car that transmits the GPS location while parked and records every trip, they don't appear to be certain about where your car is 'garaged'. I have 2 insured cars and one is driven by my daughter. She recently took a road trip and stopped off at her mother's house in another part of our state. This triggered an email from Metromile underwriting asking for proof that I haven't moved. Customer Service was absolutely no help because 'once underwriting is triggered' the required information has to be sent in to 'prove' where I am living. So we'll be finding new insurance for both cars after this ridiculous turn of events. It does make me wonder who they would handle a claim if I were to ever submit one. Goodbye Metromile!
1
June 14, 2022

jinjo

Not enough humans work here

Insurance handled by app. If you need a human that is where the trouble begins. Not enough of them at this company. They do not answer the phone on the weekends. Example Road Assistance able to handled by app- you will be fine. Accident on the weekend that does not fit their tick boxes on the app - that is where the trouble begins. They are pleasant enough but they stretch their humans too thin to be properly responsive. So far I have been una...
Insurance handled by app. If you need a human that is where the trouble begins. Not enough of them at this company. They do not answer the phone on the weekends. Example Road Assistance able to handled by app- you will be fine. Accident on the weekend that does not fit their tick boxes on the app - that is where the trouble begins. They are pleasant enough but they stretch their humans too thin to be properly responsive. So far I have been unable to complete my claim and deal with my car due to missing humans.
1
March 8, 2022

adavisv

Terrible customer service and response rate

This is hands down the worst company i have ever had to deal with. I have been a customer for quite a while, but recently had to file a claim after hitting a pothole. I am now 3 weeks into a claim, while my car sits at the shop undriveable due to bent rims and damages tires, and the person that owns my claim has not returned a single call or email or voicemail in 3 weeks! When I call the main number, they tell me something different each time or ...
This is hands down the worst company i have ever had to deal with. I have been a customer for quite a while, but recently had to file a claim after hitting a pothole. I am now 3 weeks into a claim, while my car sits at the shop undriveable due to bent rims and damages tires, and the person that owns my claim has not returned a single call or email or voicemail in 3 weeks! When I call the main number, they tell me something different each time or blame the partner company they use to process estimates (Snapsheet). When I call Snapsheet they are actually very helpful and clear on what the issue is (spoiler alert, its Metromile). I have spent countless hours on hold or getting bounced around at Metromile, while my car sits idol at the shop simply waiting for approval to replace a few wheels and tires. One of the people I spoke with at Metromile actually told me "Well, everyone is working from home now, so its very hard to get ahold of them".
5
September 30, 2021

StephB

Not too good to be true, thankfully!

To be honest, I was nervous about switching to Metromile - it seemed to good to be true and there wasn't a ton of info online. I've worked from home for several years and don't drive a ton, so the pricing made sense. I switched a couple years ago and it's been uneventful (but great!). Last month there was a freak accident where my car roof and sunroof was damaged while sitting in my driveway. I was so anxious that the "cheap" insurance I had woul...
To be honest, I was nervous about switching to Metromile - it seemed to good to be true and there wasn't a ton of info online. I've worked from home for several years and don't drive a ton, so the pricing made sense. I switched a couple years ago and it's been uneventful (but great!). Last month there was a freak accident where my car roof and sunroof was damaged while sitting in my driveway. I was so anxious that the "cheap" insurance I had would be a pain to deal with. I couldn't have been more wrong. Metromile made the whole process SO EASY and totally painless. I had a quick phone call with the claims agent who handled everything and worked directly with the auto body repair shop of my choice. The shop also said Metromile was easy to work with. My rental car reimbursement is only $30/day so I asked if they'd reimburse me for using Lyft instead (cheaper for all parties!) and they did. I submitted my Lyft receipts and got a check in the mail within a week. I'll be a Metromile customer for life.
5
January 10, 2021

digitalmello

cheapest auto insurance

Metromile is the cheapest auto insurance. You put a tracker in your car and you pay by the mile. I don't drive a whole lot so I don't have to pay that much. It is like half the price of all the other quotes that I got from other insurance companies. It also reads the engine codes and I use the app to find where i parked
2
October 15, 2020

Thorough

Save your money from this company

Very poor claims experience. It was a straightforward claim for windshield replacement because of a rock chip. Before submitting the claim I was told that deductible was $500 and that I could go ahead and get it replaced and would be reimbursed the rest. I understand that Metromile prefers and trusts safelite but I DO NOT. I trust my dealer with the quality of new glass, so went to Seattle Mini Dealership to get it replaced. After I paid almost $...
Very poor claims experience. It was a straightforward claim for windshield replacement because of a rock chip. Before submitting the claim I was told that deductible was $500 and that I could go ahead and get it replaced and would be reimbursed the rest. I understand that Metromile prefers and trusts safelite but I DO NOT. I trust my dealer with the quality of new glass, so went to Seattle Mini Dealership to get it replaced. After I paid almost $1000 on it, I was denied any reimbursement saying that safelite quoted $550 so I will be paid according to that quote. Why? Nowhere in the policy it says that if you don’t get it replaced from safelite, you won’t get the money! This is ridiculous, very poor customer experience. I have been a customer for almost 3 years with a clean record and this is what I get in return when I file a claim for the very first time? They might have done something similar during any accident I might have gotten into. Either update the policy document that you give to the customer regarding safelite or don’t deny the claim. This is a clear fraud.
3
August 24, 2020

acumama

Not great if you have a claim

The catalytic converter was stolen from my Prius. It took 24 hours for them to come tow my car to one of their locations where evaluators can assess the loss. I've been without my car for seven days. They have not been able to tell me when I'll get my car back just so I can take it in to the shop, let alone what the assessment is. Argh!
5
May 7, 2020

sfr8

Shocking Savings

I am amazed how much money I'm saving with Metromile. I was insured with another company (think Flo) for 7 years. My car is 18 years old and insurance was ~50.00/mo. for liability only. I finally decided to get a new (used) car and got a quote from Metromile just out of curiosity. I thought something was wrong with their website when I was quoted ~45.00/mo. as a base rate for BOTH CARS. I drive anywhere from 100-200 miles per month (way less...
I am amazed how much money I'm saving with Metromile. I was insured with another company (think Flo) for 7 years. My car is 18 years old and insurance was ~50.00/mo. for liability only. I finally decided to get a new (used) car and got a quote from Metromile just out of curiosity. I thought something was wrong with their website when I was quoted ~45.00/mo. as a base rate for BOTH CARS. I drive anywhere from 100-200 miles per month (way less now because of the quarantine). Three months in, my total bill has been under $55.00 each month. Oh-- and the new car has full coverage including uninsured/underinsured BI, a $250 deductible for comprehensive and collision, $0 for glass, rental reimbursement, and roadside assistance. Old car has the same liability and roadside assistance. Other insurers have quoted me anywhere from $145-195/mo. for identical coverage. I feel like I won the insurance lottery or something. (I should say I have a spotless driving record with not even a parking ticket and credit scores in the upper 700's.) If you don't drive much, it's worth checking out. But of course, YMMV-- in this case quite literally.
5
April 28, 2020

joybran

Saved money and got great service

I wasn't driving much, so I decided to find out if I could save money with Metromile. Not only did I save over 60% on my car insurance but I got great service. My car broke down a couple of times, and the roadside assistance was great!
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.4autoinsurancequote.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare over 200 auto insurance companies at once!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption