Nationwide Auto Insurance Review: Can you get affordable quotes? (2024)

Nationwide insurance rates are lower than average for drivers with poor credit, with policies at $165/mo. Our Nationwide auto insurance review compares Nationwide car insurance discounts to see how much drivers can save on rates. Nationwide anti-theft discounts can take 25% off annual premiums.

UPDATED: May 15, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: May 15, 2024Fact Checked

Rachel Bodine

Insurance Feature Writer

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Insurance Feature Writer

Brandon Frady

Licensed Insurance Agent

Brandon Frady has been a licensed insurance agent and insurance office manager since 2018. He has experience in ventures from retail to finance, working positions from cashier to management, but it wasn’t until Brandon started working in the insurance industry that he truly felt at home in his career. In his day-to-day interactions, he aims to live out his business philosophy in how he treats hi...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: May 15, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: May 15, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: May 15, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: May 15, 2024Fact Checked
4.0
4autoinsurancequote.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$115

A.M. Best rating:

A+

Complaint level:

Med

Pros

  • Loyalty rewards for long-term customers, including pet injury protection
  • Drivers can save up to 40% with Nationwide SmartRide usage-based insurance
  • Affordable rates for drivers with poor credit

Cons

  • More expensive quotes for safe drivers than its competitors
  • Fewer auto insurance discounts than other companies
  • Negative customer experiences in most regions

Final Verdict: Review of Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company

Our Nationwide auto insurance review found affordable rates for drivers with poor credit and other significant savings through the SmartRide program. However, Nationwide has slightly higher rates for drivers with good driving records, and it has poor customer ratings in some regions.  Drivers should shop around to see if they are getting the best deal at Nationwide or if another company is a better fit.

What You Should Know About Nationwide

Reading Nationwide insurance reviews and learning how to compare auto insurance quotes are some of the best ways to find out if Nationwide is right for you. Our Nationwide auto insurance review found that the company offers great rates for the majority of drivers, but it doesn’t have as many discounts as other companies.

Continue reading to learn about Nationwide Mutual Insurance company reputation, rates, and more. If you want to compare quotes from different companies today, check out our free quote comparison tool.

Nationwide Complaints and Customer Satisfaction

Nationwide car insurance ratings provide a quick look into how the company operates and what customers think of the company. Nationwide customer service has a medium complaint level, which indicates not all customers are happy with how Nationwide works with customers.

Take the time to look at all aspects of an auto insurance company before purchasing, from its rates to its customer reviews.

Daniel Walker Licensed Insurance Agent

However, a medium complaint level doesn’t necessarily mean you have to avoid the company. It just means that Nationwide is average when it comes to customer service, but other components, like its lower rates, may still make it a great choice for drivers.

Nationwide Claims Handling

Part of the rating for complaint level is based on Nationwide insurance claims complaints. Most companies have average complaint levels for claims handling, so Nationwide is about average for claims satisfaction. 

You can read more about Nationwide claims in our article on how long it takes Nationwide to process an auto insurance claim.

Nationwide Insurance Coverage Options

Nationwide offers the following types of auto insurance coverage.

  • Collision
  • Comprehensive
  • Gap coverage
  • Liability
  • Medical Payments (MedPay)
  • Nationwide SR-22 Insurance
  • Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
  • Rental Car Reiumbursment
  • Roadside Assistance
  • Underinsured Motorist
  • Uninsured Motorist

Nationwide auto insurance coverage availability for optional coverages may vary by state.

Learn more: How Much Auto Insurance Coverage You Need

Compare over 200 auto insurance companies at once!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Nationwide Insurance Rates Breakdown

Nationwide auto insurance reviews show the company offers competitive rates to young drivers and those with poor credit. Compare Nationwide auto insurance quotes by age, driving record, and credit score in the tables below.

Compare Nationwide Auto Insurance Rates by Age and Gender

The age and gender of drivers will affect their Nationwide auto insurance quotes. Below, you can see how much Nationwide charges by drivers’ age and gender.

Auto Insurance Monthly Rates by Provider, Gender, & Age
Insurance CompanyFemale (16)Male (16)Female (25)Male (25)Female (30)Male (30)Female (60)Male (60)
Allstate$608$638$181$190$168$176$150$154
American Family$414$509$136$150$124$136$99$104
Farmers$810$773$172$180$160$167$120$128
Geico$298$312$97$93$90$87$73$74
Liberty Mutual$723$785$187$215$174$200$148$159
Nationwide$411$476$136$150$124$136$99$104
Progressive$801$814$141$146$131$136$92$95
State Farm$311$349$101$111$94$103$76$76
Travelers$719$910$107$116$99$108$89$90
USAA$245$249$80$85$74$79$53$53

Nationwide is one of the cheaper companies for younger drivers, making it a decent option for new drivers.

How Driving History Affects Nationwide Auto Insurance Rates

Driving history is another factor that will affect your Nationwide average insurance per month. Take a look at the table below to see how your driving record impacts your insurance rates.

Full Coverage Auto Insurance Monthly Rates by Provider and Driving Record
Insurance CompanyClean Driving RecordOne Speeding ViolationOne AccidentOne DUI Conviction
Allstate$160$188$225$270
American Family$117$136$176$194
Farmers$139$173$198$193
Geico$80$106$132$216
Liberty Mutual$174$212$234$313
Nationwide$115$137$161$237
Progressive$105$140$186$140
State Farm$86$96$102$112
Travelers$99$134$139$206
USAA$59$67$78$108

Nationwide’s rates for different violations fall around the middle, so it is not the cheapest choice for drivers with violations.

How Credit Score Affects Nationwide Auto Insurance Rates

Below, you can see your credit score and auto insurance quotes by company.

Full Coverage Auto Insurance Monthly Rates by Credit Score
Insurance CompanyGood CreditFair CreditPoor Credit
Allstate$166$197$296
American Family$116$136$203
Farmers$140$161$269
Geico$82$100$148
Liberty Mutual$177$226$355
Nationwide$120$133$166
Progressive$109$138$206
State Farm$91$118$200
Travelers$107$128$194
USAA$63$76$129
Average$123$148$226

Nationwide’s rates for poor credit scores are some of the best, making it a great choice for drivers with poor credit scores.

Nationwide Discounts Available

Below, you can see how Nationwide car insurance discounts stack up against other companies.

Auto Insurance Discounts Offered by Top Companies
Discount NameAllstateAmerican FamilyFarmersGeicoLiberty MutualNationwideProgressiveState FarmTravelersUSAA
Adaptive Cruise Control5%
Adaptive Headlights5%
Anti-lock Brakes10%5%5%5%5%
Anti-Theft10%23%20%25%15%
Claim Free35%26%10%15%23%12%
Continuous Coverage15%
Daytime Running Lights2%3%5%5%
Defensive Driver10%10%10%5%10%5%10%3%
Distant Student35%10%7%
Driver's Ed10%10%10%15%8%3%
Driving Device/App20%40%30%40%20%50%30%5%
Early Signing10%8%10%12%
Electronic Stability Control2%5%
Emergency Deployment25%
Engaged Couple
Family Legacy10%
Family Plan25%
Farm Vehicle10%
Fast 5
Federal Employee12%10%
Forward Collision Warning5%
Full Payment10%$508%
Further Education10%15%
Garaging/Storing90%
Good Credit
Good Student20%15%23%10%25%8%3%
Green Vehicle10%5%10%10%
Homeowner5%3%5%
Lane Departure Warning
Life Insurance
Low Mileage30%
Loyalty5%
Married
Membership/Group10%7%
Military15%4%
Military Garaging15%
Multiple Drivers
Multiple Policies10%29%10%20%10%12%17%13%
Multiple Vehicles25%10%20%10%20%8%
New Address5%
New Customer/New Plan
New Graduate5%
New Vehicle30%15%40%10%12%
Newly Licensed5%
Newlyweds5%
Non-Smoker/Non-Drinker
Occasional Operator
Occupation10%15%
On-Time Payments5%15%
Online Shopper7%
Paperless Documents10%5%$50
Paperless/Auto Billing5%$30$203%3%
Passive Restraint30%30%40%20%40%
Recent Retirees4%
Renter
Roadside Assistance
Safe Driver45%15%35%31%15%23%12%
Seat Belt Use15%
Senior Driver10%
Stable Residence
Students & Alumni10%7%
Switching Provider10%
Utility Vehicle15%
Vehicle Recovery10%15%35%25%5%
VIN Etching5%
Volunteer
Young Driver$75

Nationwide offers a variety of auto insurance discounts that can help lower a driver’s Nationwide insurance cost.

How to Lower Auto Insurance Rates with Nationwide SmartRide

One of Nationwide’s biggest discounts is the usage-based discount it offers through its SmartRide program. SmartRide uses a plug-in device or app to track driving behavior for at least four months, after which SmartRide will give a discount of up to 40%.

The app will track behaviors like speeding, braking, and miles driven. If you drive safely, SmartRide will give you a discount, helping you get affordable Nationwide auto insurance. SmartRide is a great way for drivers to save, as it offers a 10% discount just for signing up.

How Nationwide Ranks Among Providers

Nationwide insurance ratings compared to other companies are decent. It is one of the best companies for drivers with poor credit ratings and anyone who needs affordable non-owner SR-22 insurance.

However, there are other companies that may offer cheaper rates for drivers with good driving records or that have better customer satisfaction ratings. The best way to decide if Nationwide is best for you is to read Nationwide car insurance reviews vs. other companies’ reviews.

Some auto insurance reviews of Nationwide’s competitors are:

Comparing companies will help you decide if Nationwide is the best company for you or if another company might fit your needs better.

Frequently Asked Questions

How does Nationwide auto insurance rank as an insurance company?

Nationwide auto insurance ratings are about average.

Is Nationwide a reputable insurance company?

Yes, Nationwide reviews consistently show competitively low rates and average customer satisfaction.

Is Nationwide good at paying auto insurance claims?

Nationwide insurance claims complaints are average, which means Nationwide is good about paying claims.

What is the quality of Nationwide customer service?

Nationwide customer service earned a medium complaint level rating, which means it is about average.

How much is Nationwide auto insurance per month?

Nationwide average insurance per month cost for good drivers is $115/mo for full coverage. However, the quote you get through a Nationwide auto insurance rates calculator will depend on your driving record, age, gender, credit score, and more.

Are Nationwide auto insurance rates based on tracked driving habits?

Nationwide only bases rates on tracked driving habits if you participate in the SmartRide program. Even then, rates will only be discounted, not raised, making SmartRide a great way to get affordable Nationwide auto insurance.

Why are my Nationwide auto insurance rates going up?

Nationwide auto insurance rates could be going up for a number of reasons, such as changes in your credit score, driving record, and more.

Where is Nationwide auto insurance available?

Nationwide auto insurance availability is only in 47 states. It is not offered in the states of Alaska, Hawaii, Louisiana, and Massachusetts.

Which is better for auto insurance, Nationwide or Progressive?

Nationwide auto insurance quotes are cheaper on average than Progressive’s quotes.

Is Nationwide financially stable?

Yes, the Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company reputation is financially stable.

How long does it take Nationwide to process a claim?

It can take anywhere from a few days to a few weeks, depending on the complexity of the claim. Learn how long it takes Nationwide to process an auto insurance claim.

How does Nationwide pay claims?

Nationwide will send you a check if your Nationwide car insurance claim is approved.

What makes Nationwide different?

Nationwide car insurance has some of the best rates for drivers with poor credit.

Why did my car insurance go up with Nationwide?

Your Nationwide auto insurance quotes could have changed due to changes in driving record, credit score, and more.

Compare over 200 auto insurance companies at once!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine

Insurance Feature Writer

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Insurance Feature Writer

Brandon Frady

Licensed Insurance Agent

Brandon Frady has been a licensed insurance agent and insurance office manager since 2018. He has experience in ventures from retail to finance, working positions from cashier to management, but it wasn’t until Brandon started working in the insurance industry that he truly felt at home in his career. In his day-to-day interactions, he aims to live out his business philosophy in how he treats hi...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Nationwide

4.02 (3,019 reviews)
1
December 7, 2021

brycelefevre

Long phone wait times

Had to call in a few times now for the same auto claim. The first time was nearly 1.5 hours before anyone picked up. Today I have been waiting over 2 hours for an answer and still nothing. Nationwide should learn to take care of their customers and answer the phones so they can provide the service they are being paid to provide!
5
January 16, 2021

Wareagle256205

Is Nationwide REALLY on your side?

Happy with Nationwide so far. Premiums are not too shabby. The agent and customer service has been more than helpful. This is good after having horrible experience with another provider.
5
January 16, 2021

Danielle202

Best Insurance Company

its best insurance company for me. i like this company. this companies policy suit every person. so anyone like it.
5
January 5, 2021

Purple1992_

Great service and worth the money

I enjoyed their service and think that they really do put their customer first by accommodating them as much possible
4
December 24, 2020

Lawanda

Delighted to have auto insurance and roadside assistance.

It was wintertime and I wasn't thinking clearly. I started my car to let it warm up and locked my keys inside. I had to go to a neighbor's house and call for a lock out. I had to wait at my neighbors until they came, but had to keep an eye on my car at the same time. I was so happy to have insurance to cover this experience. It could have been a lot worse. They were there within 30 minutes or so.
5
December 22, 2020

Anna5N

Nationwide is the best

They have fantastic rates and good quality coverage for the price. The staff are very knowledgeable and always help me with my auto insurance needs.
5
December 15, 2020

Jencorbin

Nationwide really is on your side

I have had nationwide auto insurance since I started driving. I watched nationwide cover my parent's auto and homeowners needs. Nationwide has helped me through a decent amount of claims. I have the perfect coverage for my auto needs at competitive prices. Nationwide representatives are helpful and truly have your best interests at heart. I'm able to bundle my auto insurance with my renter's insurance to get more of a discoun...
I have had nationwide auto insurance since I started driving. I watched nationwide cover my parent's auto and homeowners needs. Nationwide has helped me through a decent amount of claims. I have the perfect coverage for my auto needs at competitive prices. Nationwide representatives are helpful and truly have your best interests at heart. I'm able to bundle my auto insurance with my renter's insurance to get more of a discount. I have no plan switching insurance providers anytime soon because I am so satisfied.
4
November 26, 2020

Adelbert

In Nationwide I Trust

My experience with nationwide is really fascinating. They vaule their customers very much. They care about their customers. Their service is up to the mark. I am really happy to be with them.
2
October 21, 2020

RD2371

Misleading adice

I was quoted 1 price but every time interest rate went up so did my payment and I got to where I come afford payment
5
October 21, 2020

JealousGull

Staying with another 10+ years

I’ve had Nationwide for years because of their loyalty to their customers. My agent goes above and beyond while making sure to help anyway possible should the need arise. I’ve had to have my vehicle towed quite a few times and always dread trying to find a towing company due to a past experience of a towing company trying to be sent from an entirely different city over a hour away, I immediately called my agent who straightened everything out...
I’ve had Nationwide for years because of their loyalty to their customers. My agent goes above and beyond while making sure to help anyway possible should the need arise. I’ve had to have my vehicle towed quite a few times and always dread trying to find a towing company due to a past experience of a towing company trying to be sent from an entirely different city over a hour away, I immediately called my agent who straightened everything out and had a tow truck on the way arriving in 15 minutes. I also like my yearly calendar!
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.4autoinsurancequote.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare over 200 auto insurance companies at once!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption