Travelers Auto Insurance Review: Can you get affordable quotes? (2024)

Travelers auto insurance rates average $99/mo for safe drivers, but rates are higher than average for teens and drivers with accidents. Travelers auto insurance discounts for students and those with continuous coverage help teens and high-risk drivers get more affordable auto insurance rates.

UPDATED: May 11, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: May 11, 2024Fact Checked

Melanie Musson

Published Insurance Expert

Melanie Musson is the fourth generation in her family to work in the insurance industry. She grew up with insurance talk as part of her everyday conversation and has studied to gain an in-depth knowledge of state-specific insurance laws and dynamics as well as a broad understanding of how insurance fits into every person’s life, from budgets to coverage levels. Through her years working in th...

Published Insurance Expert

Brandon Frady

Licensed Insurance Agent

Brandon Frady has been a licensed insurance agent and insurance office manager since 2018. He has experience in ventures from retail to finance, working positions from cashier to management, but it wasn’t until Brandon started working in the insurance industry that he truly felt at home in his career. In his day-to-day interactions, he aims to live out his business philosophy in how he treats hi...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: May 11, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: May 11, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: May 11, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: May 11, 2024Fact Checked
4.1
4autoinsurancequote.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Travelers

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$99

A.M. Best rating:

A++

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Auto insurance coverage available in 42 states
  • Strong financial strength rating of A++ from A.M. Best
  • Multiple coverage options, including UBI and rideshare insurance

Cons

  • Below-average customer and claims satisfaction in most regions
  • More expensive insurance rates than other companies
  • Smaller discounts than its competitors

Final Verdict: Review of Travelers

Travelers auto insurance rates are relatively affordable, averaging $99 monthly, and the company’s A.M. Best rating of A++ indicates its strong financial strength. You may also qualify for Travelers auto insurance discounts for affordable coverage, such as a good driver or low-mileage discount. While you can get affordable Travelers insurance quotes, you should always shop around with the best affordable auto insurance companies to find the lowest prices in your area.

What You Should Know About Travelers Companies, Inc.

Travelers auto insurance offers various policy types alongside auto insurance discounts for affordable coverage. Expect to pay around $99 per month for a Travelers car insurance policy. Travelers insurance also has a low complaint level, indicating the company has good customer service.

We’ll help you find the best Travelers insurance rates and coverages to fit your needs and budget. Keep reading this Travelers auto insurance review to learn how Travelers auto insurance customer service and claims handling stack up against competitors.

Travelers Auto Insurance Reviews, Complaints, and Customer Satisfaction

Travelers Insurance customer service is relatively high when compared it other insurers. According to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners, the Travelers Insurance Company has a lower-than-average complaint index score of 0.31. The average complaint index score is 1.00, meaning the company receives a low volume of complaints.

Travelers Auto Insurance Claims Handling

A 2022 J.D. Power car insurance satisfaction study ranked Travelers auto insurance claims handling 17 out of 21 companies. What auto insurance companies don’t tell you when handling your claim is how the companies price your claim, leading many policyholders to believe they received an unfair settlement.

Travelers Companies, Inc. Insurance Coverage Options

Travelers sells various types of auto insurance coverage, including:

The availability of some Travelers insurance add-ons and coverage options varies. So, speak with a Travelers insurance company representative to learn how much auto insurance coverage you need and what optional policies you can get. For example, you can get auto insurance quotes for rideshare drivers with Travelers, but only in Colorado and Illinois.

Other Types of Insurance From Travelers

You can also get the following other insurance coverage types from Travelers:

  • Umbrella
  • Boat and yacht
  • Home
  • Commercial auto
  • Landlord
  • Pet
  • Business
  • Renters
  • Condo
  • Travel

Travelers offers a bundling discount of up to 10%, making it one of the best insurance companies for bundling home and auto insurance.

Compare over 200 auto insurance companies at once!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Travelers Companies, Inc. Insurance Rates Breakdown

Various factors impact your Travelers auto insurance rates, including age, gender, driving record, and more. You might wonder how age affects your auto insurance rates

Insurers see young drivers as inexperienced and more likely to file claims, so they get charged higher premiums.

Kristen Gryglik Licensed Insurance Agent

Check out the table below to compare the average cost of auto insurance by age, gender, and insurance company:

Auto Insurance Monthly Rates by Provider, Gender, & Age
Insurance CompanyFemale (16)Male (16)Female (25)Male (25)Female (30)Male (30)Female (60)Male (60)
Allstate$608$638$181$190$168$176$150$154
American Family$414$509$136$150$124$136$99$104
Farmers$810$773$172$180$160$167$120$128
Geico$298$312$97$93$90$87$73$74
Liberty Mutual$723$785$187$215$174$200$148$159
Nationwide$411$476$136$150$124$136$99$104
Progressive$801$814$141$146$131$136$92$95
State Farm$311$349$101$111$94$103$76$76
Travelers$719$910$107$116$99$108$89$90
USAA$245$249$80$85$74$79$53$53

Your driving record also affects how much you pay for your Travelers insurance premiums. Below, you can see how a DUI affects your auto insurance rates alongside other violations:

Full Coverage Auto Insurance Monthly Rates by Provider and Driving Record

Insurance CompanyClean Driving RecordOne Speeding ViolationOne AccidentOne DUI Conviction
Allstate$160$188$225$270
American Family$117$136$176$194
Farmers$139$173$198$193
Geico$80$106$132$216
Liberty Mutual$174$212$234$313
Nationwide$115$137$161$237
Progressive$105$140$186$140
State Farm$86$96$102$112
Travelers$99$134$139$206
USAA$59$67$78$108

Insurance companies view drivers with low credit as more likely to miss premium payments or file claims, so they pay higher rates.”

You might wonder how your credit score and auto insurance quotes relate. See how much drivers with poor credit could pay for Travelers insurance vs. its competitors below:

Full Coverage Auto Insurance Monthly Rates by Credit Score

Insurance CompanyGood CreditFair CreditPoor Credit
Allstate$166$197$296
American Family$116$136$203
Farmers$140$161$269
Geico$82$100$148
Liberty Mutual$177$226$355
Nationwide$120$133$166
Progressive$109$138$206
State Farm$91$118$200
Travelers$107$128$194
USAA$63$76$129
Average$123$148$226

It’s important to do a Travelers car insurance comparison of average rates by certain demographics and factors to find the best deal for you. Learn more about how to get affordable no-credit-check auto insurance.

Travelers Companies, Inc. Discounts Available

Travelers offers several car insurance discounts based on the individual’s policy, vehicle, and record, including:

  • Multi-policy discount
  • Multi-car discount
  • Homeownership discount
  • Continuous coverage discount
  • Safe driver discount
  • New car discount
  • Student away at school discount
  • Driver training discount

Policyholders can also save up to 20% on their auto insurance by enrolling in Travelers IntelliDrive. IntelliDrive is the company’s usage-based auto insurance program that monitors driving habits and offers a discount based on how well you drive. Learn more in our Travelers IntelliDrive review.

How Travelers Companies, Inc. Ranks Among Providers

Travelers has relatively competitive auto insurance rates and good customer service ratings compared to other companies. However, some companies, including State Farm or Geico, may offer better prices depending on age, gender, driving record, and more. Learn more in our Geico vs. Travelers auto insurance review.

Read more:

Always compare your Travelers insurance quote vs. quotes from other companies to get the cheapest policy.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Travelers auto insurance good?

Travelers auto insurance offers affordable rates, good customer service, and excellent financial strength.

How much is Travelers auto insurance?

Cheap Travelers insurance averages $99 monthly for full coverage, though rates vary.

Is Travelers insurance competitive?

Travelers has competitive car insurance prices 17% cheaper than the national average. However, other companies may offer cheaper rates than Travelers.

What insurance companies are cheaper than Travelers?

In some cases, Geico and State Farm offer cheaper auto insurance rates than Travelers. However, rates vary by personal factors.

What rank is Travelers insurance?

Travelers Insurance A.M. Best rating is A++, and it ranks 17 out of 21 for claims satisfaction in a 2022 J.D. Power study.

Does Travelers have good customer service?

Travelers car insurance has a low complaint index, indicating good customer service.

What is the most common Travelers auto insurance claim?

Common Travelers auto insurance claims include rear-end crashes, cracked windshields, vandalism, weather, and theft.

How does Travelers Insurance Company pay out claims?

Travelers auto insurance claims get paid directly into your bank or PayPal account. You can also get a check mailed to you.

How long does Travelers auto insurance take to pay a claim?

On average, auto insurers pay out claims within 30 days.

Is Travelers auto insurance part of Geico?

No, Geico doesn’t own the Travelers insurance company.

Who underwrites Travelers auto insurance?

Travelers auto insurance is underwritten by the Travelers Indemnity Company or one of its property casualty affiliates.

What are the disadvantages of Travelers insurance?

Some disadvantages of a Travelers car insurance policy include the following:

  • Some customers are dissatisfied with claims handling.
  • Other companies offer more affordable rates.

How much will my insurance go up after an accident with Travelers?

Your Travelers car insurance rates will increase by around 40% after you get in an accident.

Compare over 200 auto insurance companies at once!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Melanie Musson

Published Insurance Expert

Melanie Musson is the fourth generation in her family to work in the insurance industry. She grew up with insurance talk as part of her everyday conversation and has studied to gain an in-depth knowledge of state-specific insurance laws and dynamics as well as a broad understanding of how insurance fits into every person’s life, from budgets to coverage levels. Through her years working in th...

Published Insurance Expert

Brandon Frady

Licensed Insurance Agent

Brandon Frady has been a licensed insurance agent and insurance office manager since 2018. He has experience in ventures from retail to finance, working positions from cashier to management, but it wasn’t until Brandon started working in the insurance industry that he truly felt at home in his career. In his day-to-day interactions, he aims to live out his business philosophy in how he treats hi...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Travelers Companies, Inc.

4.07 (1,731 reviews)
4
January 8, 2021

Leopard

Fast reply

They have good customer service fast and quick they reimburse me quick they come to the site quick they nice and friendly and reply email quick and fast
1
December 15, 2020

franbrown11

HORRIBLE

BY FAR THE WORST COMPANY I HAVE EVER WORKED WITH. I was yelled at and hung up on by our agent. I was told to stop asking questions because it was making things take longer. I was told I was being argumentative instead of anyone actually listening to my questions. I was hung up on for asking to speak to a supervisor. I was given different information every single time I spoke with someone. As someone who has been in customer service for over 14 ye...
BY FAR THE WORST COMPANY I HAVE EVER WORKED WITH. I was yelled at and hung up on by our agent. I was told to stop asking questions because it was making things take longer. I was told I was being argumentative instead of anyone actually listening to my questions. I was hung up on for asking to speak to a supervisor. I was given different information every single time I spoke with someone. As someone who has been in customer service for over 14 years, I have never seen customer treated as poorly as I was throughout this experience. Nasty, mean people that could care less about their customers. The first thing the tow company and the auto body shop asked was if I was ok after my accident. Travelers never asked anything like that. Instead, they blamed and shamed me.
4
October 17, 2020

biskutt

Increasing price for no obvious reason

I never had any problems with the coverage, but the price kept going up and up even as my car got older, and I had no tickets or accidents. I changed companies and got the same coverage for a lot less.
4
October 14, 2020

CarterKing2020

Bill

Great company, always there when you need them. I just don't like that sometimes your bill goes up when you have a wreck.
5
October 14, 2020

BW2345

Affordable, easy to manage, and great customer service

Travelers makes managing insurance products easily. With an easy to use mobile app, friendly customer service, and affordable auto insurance, I would highly recommend them for all your insurance needs.
5
October 10, 2020

Rustysgirl

Fast service

Had a broken windshield from a truck throwing up a rock on the interstate; they responded and sent someone immediately with no hassle
5
October 9, 2020

Christinewashere

Best option

Great company! I am lucky to have found this company. They have been doing good job and helping me with my insurance. Keep it up!
5
October 9, 2020

SPR5036

Good Car Claim

Had an automobile claim two months ago. The service agent was helpful on getting a windshield replaced fast.
5
October 8, 2020

GQ

Great Value

Travelers has been a great company. Great customer service and fair prices. I like that I can bundle my homeowners, auto and umbrella policies to get a discount.
4
October 8, 2020

ShawnTaylor

"Travelers" is a great insurance company

"Travelers" is a great insurance company. I feel lucky to be their customer. They really care about their customers. They offers great deals and services. They are also helping community.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.4autoinsurancequote.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare over 200 auto insurance companies at once!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption