Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by

Leslie Kasperowicz holds a BA in Social Sciences from the University of Winnipeg. She spent several years as a Farmers Insurance CSR, gaining a solid understanding of insurance products including home, life, auto, and commercial and working directly with insurance customers to understand their needs. She has since used that knowledge in her more than ten years as a writer, largely in the insurance...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Leslie Kasperowicz
Former Farmers Insurance CSR

UPDATED: Nov 12, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Wyoming flagWyoming is one of the least populated states. While there may not be many people in Wyoming, drivers still need to have Wyoming auto insurance. Wyoming requires that all drivers on Wyoming roads and highways have valid proof of insurance. The minimum amount of coverage for drivers in Wyoming is 25/50/20.

Wyoming Auto Insurance Laws And Requirements

In Wyoming, the state liability coverage minimums are:

  • Bodily Injury Liability Insurance – $25,000 per person
  • Bodily Injury Liability Insurance – $50,000 per accident
  • Property Damage Liability Insurance – $20,000 per accident

Take a look at how Wyoming’s minimum rates compare with surrounding states.

View as image

Optional coverage in Wyoming (varies by carrier):

  • Comprehensive Coverage
  • Collision Coverage
  • Medical Payments Coverage
  • Rental Car Reimbursement Coverage
  • Roadside Assistance / Towing and Labor Coverage

The minimum amount of liability coverage for a single person in an automobile accident is $25,000. This means that an individual who is injured or killed after being in involved in an automobile accident is guaranteed at least $25,000 in coverage. Wyoming requires that $50,000 in total liability coverage be provided by drivers. This means that a driver must have this amount of coverage and this is the maximum amount that could be paid out for the entire accident by an insurance company. Drivers also must carry $20,000 in property damage liability insurance. Property damage liability insurance pays for damage that is made to personal property as a result of an automobile accident. It should be noted that 25/50/20 is the minimum amount of coverage that drivers must have. Drivers can choose to have far more coverage and should purchase as much coverage as they can afford. Wyoming is a tort state which means that drivers are able to take each other to court to seek damages resulting from an accident.

Drivers in the state of Wyoming must produce proof of automobile insurance when they register their vehicle. Drivers cannot register a vehicle in Wyoming without valid proof of insurance. Drivers who choose to drive without valid insurance may be convicted of a misdemeanor. A fine ranging from $250 to $750 as well as jail time may be assigned by a judge.

Although auto insurance is required, many Wyoming drivers still try to test their luck on the road without it. Because of this, Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage is required in the state. It must have the same limits as your liability coverage. Wyoming is a tort state and drivers are encouraged to purchase this insurance to protect against potential monetary losses. Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage only adds a few extra dollars to a monthly premium but can save a motorist hundreds of thousands of dollars in the future.

Drivers in Wyoming are not required to have collision coverage. Wyoming drivers should strongly consider purchasing collision coverage as Wyoming is a tort state. Collision coverage protects a drivers vehicle from colliding with another vehicle or object. This policy will pay for repairs to the vehicle. Body shop repairs can easily cost thousands of dollars for vehicles that need several parts replaced, painted and mounted onto the vehicle. Drivers who are still paying off their loan or have a lease vehicle may be required to have collision coverage.

Wyoming drivers are not required to have comprehensive coverage. The ability for Wyoming drivers to sue each other means that Wyoming drivers should strongly consider comprehensive coverage. Comprehensive coverage will pay for theft, vandalism and acts of God. Drivers will be able to recover the cost of their vehicle if it is stolen. Drivers who have a vehicle that is still under a loan or is being leased should strongly consider comprehensive coverage.


Luckily the insurance rates in Wyoming are much cheaper in comparison to the other states in the nation.

View as image

The statewide average for auto insurance is just under $1,100 per year, which is less than $100 a month. Compared to the national average, this rate is more than $300 less. What’s even better is that the rate doesn’t change much when going from an average rural area to the big city.

Let’s take a closer look at the ZIP codes within the state to see how rates changed based on different areas.

View as image

There are a lot of factors that auto insurance companies take into consideration when determining your rates. Take a look at our overview here.

View as image

While many of these factors are simply based on your own driving record, two things that affect even the safest of drivers are age and gender. As with most states, males typically pay higher auto insurance rates than females.

View as image

Compare over 200 auto insurance companies at once!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Wyoming Auto Insurance Rates by Company

Though the state boasts very cheap auto insurance rates overall, let’s take a look at how rates vary between some of the largest companies.

View as image

But which companies are the largest, holding the most market share percentage in the region?

View as image

Wyoming Driving Laws And Statistics

Teenage drivers in Wyoming must participate in the Graduated Drivers License program or GDL. This means that a teenage driver must first apply for the instruction permit. Drivers must spend at least six months at this level as well as complete 50 total hours of driving experience. 10 hours must be at night. The intermediate permit phase requires that drivers pass a road skills test, vision screening and meet all requirements set by the state of Wyoming. Drivers who have held this license for six months and have not been ticketed/convicted of any offense may apply for a full license.

Wyoming drivers have one of the lowest DUI rates in the country. This is partially due to the low population of the state as well as a strict enforcement program. Adult drivers are not allowed to drive once their BAC reaches 0.08. Any driver who is found with 0.08 BAC or higher may be found guilty of DUI. A driver who is convicted of a DUI faces license suspension, alcohol education classes, fines, court costs, community service and jail time. Wyoming has a zero tolerance policy for teenagers who are found with a BAC. This means that any driver under the age of 21 with a blood alcohol content in their bloodstream may have their license revoked, suspended and/or be charged with a DUI.

If you are a Wyoming resident and are in need of auto insurance, scroll back to the top of this page and enter your zip code. From there, you will be given competitive auto insurance quotes from the top auto insurance companies!

Wyoming Auto Insurance Agents Directory

Wyoming Auto Insurance Agents

Compare over 200 auto insurance companies at once!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Wyoming Auto Insurance – Additional Resources