USAA Auto Insurance Review: Can you get affordable quotes? (2024)

Cheap USAA auto insurance rates are about $58/mo for military members and their families. USAA auto insurance reviews show that high-risk drivers can also find cheap car insurance with the company, but USAA will raise your rates higher than other insurers after a DUI with over 80% increases.

UPDATED: Dec 27, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Dec 27, 2023Fact Checked

Melanie Musson

Published Insurance Expert

Melanie Musson is the fourth generation in her family to work in the insurance industry. She grew up with insurance talk as part of her everyday conversation and has studied to gain an in-depth knowledge of state-specific insurance laws and dynamics as well as a broad understanding of how insurance fits into every person’s life, from budgets to coverage levels. Through her years working in th...

Published Insurance Expert

Brandon Frady

Licensed Insurance Agent

Brandon Frady has been a licensed insurance agent and insurance office manager since 2018. He has experience in ventures from retail to finance, working positions from cashier to management, but it wasn’t until Brandon started working in the insurance industry that he truly felt at home in his career. In his day-to-day interactions, he aims to live out his business philosophy in how he treats hi...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Dec 27, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Dec 27, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Dec 27, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Dec 27, 2023Fact Checked
4.7
4autoinsurancequote.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

The United States Service Automobile Association

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$59

A.M. Best rating:

A++

Complaint level:

Med

Pros

  • Highest in J.D. Power customer satisfaction
  • Consistently low auto insurance rates for teens, seniors, and high-risk drivers
  • USAA SafePilot usage-based insurance helps save money on car insurance

Cons

  • Auto insurance is only available to military members and their immediate families
  • Restrictive gap insurance coverage options
  • More complaints about slow claims and settlements than other companies

Final Verdict: Review of The United States Service Automobile Association

Our USAA car insurance review shows that the company is a strong choice for drivers to get various coverages with low rates. However, only military members, veterans, and their families are eligible for coverage.

In addition to standard coverage, USAA offers coverage such as rideshare insurance and accident forgiveness. USAA also offers savings through its telematics program SafePilot, which monitors driving habits to determine a safe-driving discount.

While USAA specializes in low military insurance, compare coverage, rates, and discounts from multiple companies to find your best deal.

What You Should Know About USAA

USAA offers auto insurance to military members, veterans, and their families.  Rates are typically low, and USAA also provides numerous auto insurance discounts.

USAA charges higher rates for younger drivers due to a lack of driving experience. However, rates decrease as age increases.

Daniel Walker Licensed Insurance Agent

While USAA offers many standard types of car insurance, it also offers hard-to-find coverage, such as rideshare insurance and accident forgiveness.

Since USAA has great reviews and is considered one of the best military auto insurance companies, it’s worth comparing coverage, rates, and discounts to see if USAA offers the best deal.

Continue reading our USAA auto insurance review to learn if the company is the right choice for you.

Using the USAA Mobile App

Most insurance companies offer mobile apps to allow drivers to easily access account information. However, the USAA mobile app provides many additional benefits.

In the USAA app, you can:

  • Get insurance IDs
  • File a claim
  • Request roadside assistance
  • Pay bills
  • Access member-only perks
  • Calculate loan payments
  •  Locate ATMs
  • Make mobile deposits

The USAA mobile app conveniently allows drivers to access insurance information and other banking tasks.

USAA Insurance Coverage Options

USAA provides many types of auto insurance coverage options for drivers.

USAA auto insurance coverage includes:

  • Liability
  • Collision
  • Comprehensive
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist
  • SR-22
  • Non-owner
  • Roadside assistance

USAA also offers specialized coverage options. Drivers can acquire accident forgiveness, rideshare coverage, and car replacement assistance. However, adding coverage does increase your rates.

How much auto insurance coverage you need varies based on your situation and state.

While most states require liability coverage, most other coverages are optional. Since liability coverage only pays for property damage and bodily injuries to others, many drivers choose full coverage. Full coverage includes liability, collision, comprehensive, and other state-mandated coverages.

This table shows the average USAA insurance rates for full and liability-only coverage.

Full Coverage vs. Liability-Only Insurance: Monthly Auto Insurance Rates by Provider
Insurance CompanyFull Coverage: Clean RecordFull Coverage: One AccidentLiability Only: Clean RecordLiability Only: One Accident
Allstate$318$416$162$212
American Family$224$310$114$158
Farmers$288$377$147$192
Geico$179$266$91$136
Liberty Mutual$398$517$203$264
Nationwide$229$283$117$144
Progressive$283$398$144$203
State Farm$235$283$120$144
Travelers$287$357$147$182
USAA$215$275$110$140
National Average$260$342$133$174

While USAA full coverage rates are higher than liability rates, full coverage provides coverage for your vehicle. Without full coverage, you may have significant out-of-pocket costs if your vehicle is damaged.

Compare over 200 auto insurance companies at once!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

USAA Insurance Rates Breakdown

Many factors affect USAA car insurance rates, such as age, driving record, credit score, and vehicle. USAA is one of the most affordable auto insurance companies for military families, but personal factors impact rates greatly.

Let’s look at USAA auto insurance rates for two of the most significant factors below.

Compare USAA Auto Insurance Rates

While USAA military car insurance rates tend to be the cheapest around, personal factors still impact your premiums.

Younger drivers pay higher rates since they lack experience behind the wheel. In addition, male drivers are statistically more likely to take risks and are charged higher rates.

This table breaks down USAA auto insurance rates by age and gender compared to other top insurers.

Auto Insurance Monthly Rates by Provider, Gender, & Age
Insurance CompanyFemale (16)Male (16)Female (25)Male (25)Female (30)Male (30)Female (60)Male (60)
Allstate$608$638$181$190$168$176$150$154
American Family$414$509$136$150$124$136$99$104
Farmers$810$773$172$180$160$167$120$128
Geico$298$312$97$93$90$87$73$74
Liberty Mutual$723$785$187$215$174$200$148$159
Nationwide$411$476$136$150$124$136$99$104
Progressive$801$814$141$146$131$136$92$95
State Farm$311$349$101$111$94$103$76$76
Travelers$719$910$107$116$99$108$89$90
USAA$245$249$80$85$74$79$53$53

USAA insurance quotes are cheaper than other insurers, regardless of age or gender.

One of the most significant factors that determine insurance rates is your driving record. It shows insurance companies how likely you are to cost them money in claims.

This table compares USAA auto insurance rates based on driving records.

Full Coverage Auto Insurance Monthly Rates by Provider and Driving Record
Insurance CompanyClean Driving RecordOne Speeding ViolationOne AccidentOne DUI Conviction
Allstate$160$188$225$270
American Family$117$136$176$194
Farmers$139$173$198$193
Geico$80$106$132$216
Liberty Mutual$174$212$234$313
Nationwide$115$137$161$237
Progressive$105$140$186$140
State Farm$86$96$102$112
Travelers$99$134$139$206
USAA$59$67$78$108

USAA rates are also the cheapest, no matter the driving record. However, some infractions increase rates dramatically. For example, let’s look at how DUI affects auto insurance rates with USAA. The normally cheap USAA auto insurance rates are almost double with one DUI.

Keep your driving record clean to enjoy the most affordable USAA insurance rates.

USAA Discounts Available

USAA provides auto insurance discounts based on the driver, policy, and vehicle.

This table compares USAA auto insurance discounts with savings from other top companies.

Auto Insurance Discounts Offered by Top Companies
Discount NameAllstateAmerican FamilyFarmersGeicoLiberty MutualNationwideProgressiveState FarmTravelersUSAA
Adaptive Cruise Control5%
Adaptive Headlights5%
Anti-lock Brakes10%5%5%5%5%
Anti-Theft10%23%20%25%15%
Claim Free35%26%10%15%23%12%
Continuous Coverage15%
Daytime Running Lights2%3%5%5%
Defensive Driver10%10%10%5%10%5%10%3%
Distant Student35%10%7%
Driver's Ed10%10%10%15%8%3%
Driving Device/App20%40%30%40%20%50%30%5%
Early Signing10%8%10%12%
Electronic Stability Control2%5%
Emergency Deployment25%
Engaged Couple
Family Legacy10%
Family Plan25%
Farm Vehicle10%
Fast 5
Federal Employee12%10%
Forward Collision Warning5%
Full Payment10%$508%
Further Education10%15%
Garaging/Storing90%
Good Credit
Good Student20%15%23%10%25%8%3%
Green Vehicle10%5%10%10%
Homeowner5%3%5%
Lane Departure Warning
Life Insurance
Low Mileage30%
Loyalty5%
Married
Membership/Group10%7%
Military15%4%
Military Garaging15%
Multiple Drivers
Multiple Policies10%29%10%20%10%12%17%13%
Multiple Vehicles25%10%20%10%20%8%
New Address5%
New Customer/New Plan
New Graduate5%
New Vehicle30%15%40%10%12%
Newly Licensed5%
Newlyweds5%
Non-Smoker/Non-Drinker
Occasional Operator
Occupation10%15%
On-Time Payments5%15%
Online Shopper7%
Paperless Documents10%5%$50
Paperless/Auto Billing5%$30$203%3%
Passive Restraint30%30%40%20%40%
Recent Retirees4%
Renter
Roadside Assistance
Safe Driver45%15%35%31%15%23%12%
Seat Belt Use15%
Senior Driver10%
Stable Residence
Students & Alumni10%7%
Switching Provider10%
Utility Vehicle15%
Vehicle Recovery10%15%35%25%5%
VIN Etching5%
Volunteer
Young Driver$75

While many companies offer similar discounts, USAA provides higher savings and discounts other companies may not have. For example, when comparing Allstate vs. USAA auto insurance discounts, USAA offers a continuous coverage discount, and Allstate doesn’t.

USAA allows drivers to bundle discounts for the greatest savings. Take advantage of all available discounts to get the lowest USAA car insurance rates.

How to Earn Safe Driving Discounts with USAA SafePilot

USAA SafePilot is a telematics program that provides up to a 30% discount based on your safe driving. The SafePilot mobile app records specific drive data, such as location, hard braking, and phone usage. A discount is calculated based on driving habits and added to your policy at renewal.

Adding SafePilot to your USAA auto insurance policy offers significant savings, and the company won’t raise rates if you score poorly.

How USAA Ranks Among Providers

USAA reviews are favorable across the board. In addition, USAA received an A++ rating from A.M. Best for financial stability.

USAA customer service and claims satisfaction reviews are also good. According to J.D. Power, USAA scored the second highest in customer satisfaction in the country.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is USAA a good insurance company to deal with?

USAA has a long history of providing insurance with strong financial and customer service scores. Since USAA complaints are low and rates are also low, it is considered one of the best insurers around.

What are the disadvantages of USAA auto insurance?

USAA only offers insurance coverage to members of the military and their families.

Are USAA auto insurance rates really cheaper than other companies?

While USAA costs are typically lower, auto insurance rates depend on many factors, such as age, driving record, and vehicle.

Who are USAA’s biggest auto insurance competitors?

Top insurance companies, such as State Farm, Progressive, Allstate, and Geico, compete with USAA.

How much does USAA auto insurance cost a month?

USAA auto insurance rates may be as low as $58 a month, but rates vary significantly by the driver.

Who is not eligible for USAA auto insurance?

Only military members, veterans, and their families qualify for USAA insurance.

How do I file a USAA auto insurance claim?

You can file a claim online, through the mobile app, or by calling customer service.

Will filing a claim increase my USAA auto insurance rates?

USAA insurance rates typically increase after an accident unless you have accident forgiveness.

Why does USAA keep raising my auto insurance rates?

Auto insurance rates increase for many reasons, such as a change to your driving record, moving, a new vehicle, or credit score changes. Inflation and the increased cost of repairs also affect rates.

How good is USAA at paying claims?

USAA has a good reputation for paying claims quickly. How long it takes USAA to process a car insurance claim varies. Although some claims take months to close, most claims are closed within a few weeks.

Compare over 200 auto insurance companies at once!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Melanie Musson

Published Insurance Expert

Melanie Musson is the fourth generation in her family to work in the insurance industry. She grew up with insurance talk as part of her everyday conversation and has studied to gain an in-depth knowledge of state-specific insurance laws and dynamics as well as a broad understanding of how insurance fits into every person’s life, from budgets to coverage levels. Through her years working in th...

Published Insurance Expert

Brandon Frady

Licensed Insurance Agent

Brandon Frady has been a licensed insurance agent and insurance office manager since 2018. He has experience in ventures from retail to finance, working positions from cashier to management, but it wasn’t until Brandon started working in the insurance industry that he truly felt at home in his career. In his day-to-day interactions, he aims to live out his business philosophy in how he treats hi...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for USAA

4.72 (6,432 reviews)
1
January 19, 2024

Poteattony

Usaa not so great anymore

These guys dropped me based on my adult daughters driving record even thought my wife and i have a perfect driving record and will not renew or communicate even though both daughters are adults and are moved out of my home! Thanks for looking our for your vets usaa! Ive been a member and have had insurance banking etc with them for 14 yrs but im out now! Theses guys really do not have any loyalty
1
December 21, 2023

ioam

Customer service got bad

I have been a member with USAA for nearly 10 years now. I have received exceptional service in the past, but recently I am very disappointed with their service. My vehicle was deemed a total loss 3 times during my claim/repairs, it has been in repair status for 3 months, I was only reimbursed for 6 days of rental coverage, the adjusters including the manager are unresponsive and communication is unnecessarily drawn out. USAA refused to communicat...
I have been a member with USAA for nearly 10 years now. I have received exceptional service in the past, but recently I am very disappointed with their service. My vehicle was deemed a total loss 3 times during my claim/repairs, it has been in repair status for 3 months, I was only reimbursed for 6 days of rental coverage, the adjusters including the manager are unresponsive and communication is unnecessarily drawn out. USAA refused to communicate with the mechanical shop and the body shop, which made my life very difficult. I was doing their work to ensure the parties are getting paid, that my vehicle is being moved from shop to shop, and I had to frequently call USAA to receive any kind of status update. At one point they actually closed my claim as "resolved" simply because they claimed I was not responding... I was furious about that. They reopened my claim a day later because I was checking emails, the claims communication center and my phone daily. Meanwhile, I signed a new lease when I was informed the first time that my vehicle is totaled, moved out of state and now have to have my vehicle shipped to me. From all USAA employees in the claim process, I feel ignored, misinformed, and not treated as a valued customer. I am writing this review because trying to resolve this matter internally has led to no results and at this point, I do not recommend USAA to potential new members, especially when I am paying $250 monthly to be insured for anything that may come my way...
4
October 2, 2023

Sandy_H

Unresolved billing issue for months

Wow, after being a USAA member for decades, I can't get them to resolve a billing issue that's ongoing since September 2022. I've made 15+ calls, more than 40 hours if our time, sometimes talking to 2 or 3 representatives per call, supervisors, and EVERY TIME, you have to start over because you can't talk to the same person twice, EVER. No one can help, Supervisors don't return calls if you're lucky enough to reach one after 45 minutes on hold, a...
Wow, after being a USAA member for decades, I can't get them to resolve a billing issue that's ongoing since September 2022. I've made 15+ calls, more than 40 hours if our time, sometimes talking to 2 or 3 representatives per call, supervisors, and EVERY TIME, you have to start over because you can't talk to the same person twice, EVER. No one can help, Supervisors don't return calls if you're lucky enough to reach one after 45 minutes on hold, and still, the billing problem persists. Extremely disappointed and you can't send an email or tell anyone. Maybe this public post will provide some relief.
1
September 26, 2023

davidwells

USAA: Always hire a lawyer

Always hire a lawyer when dealing with USAA. Here are the tactics USAA uses to avoid paying your car claim. 1. Ignore your phone calls and delay for months to wear you down 2.Make you manage their claim department to get things done 3.Each new person shows surprise that no one has called you back and promises to take care of it 4.Tell you that your 2022 claim was on an old system and only a few people can access that system 5.Play a game that the...
Always hire a lawyer when dealing with USAA. Here are the tactics USAA uses to avoid paying your car claim. 1. Ignore your phone calls and delay for months to wear you down 2.Make you manage their claim department to get things done 3.Each new person shows surprise that no one has called you back and promises to take care of it 4.Tell you that your 2022 claim was on an old system and only a few people can access that system 5.Play a game that the market value of a wrecked car is within $500 dollars of an unwrecked car. Go somewhere else.
1
June 17, 2023

chanelcinq

Completely incompetent

What a complete nightmare.  WORST COMPANY EVER. They are completely incompetent on every single level.  Please look at the reviews.  If you sort by most recent the first three pages ALL are 1 star except one 3 star and two 2 stars.  The rest are all 1 star so it is obvious they have declined.  It took them 5.5 weeks to total my car.  The agents don't call you back and basically, they don't do anything.  Nothing happened unless I called to ...
What a complete nightmare.  WORST COMPANY EVER. They are completely incompetent on every single level.  Please look at the reviews.  If you sort by most recent the first three pages ALL are 1 star except one 3 star and two 2 stars.  The rest are all 1 star so it is obvious they have declined.  It took them 5.5 weeks to total my car.  The agents don't call you back and basically, they don't do anything.  Nothing happened unless I called to move to the next step.  It took a week before they even towed my car from the accident site.  I called every day telling them my car was going to be towed away and they needed to move it.  When they towed it they towed it about 45 minutes away and across a bridge.  I am in a very populous place in San [REDACTED NAME] between San [REDACTED NAME] and San [REDACTED NAME] yet they towed my car to the East Bay.  Then it sat for 1.5 weeks.  I called again to ask what is going on and why there has been no appraisal after 2.5 weeks.   Once I called them, then I received a call back in 25 minutes the appraisal was done.  I asked the agent how he did it so fast and he said from photos.  Give me a break.  It was obviously NOT correct.  Then the car needed to be towed from this facility in the East Bay to my auto body shop.  I was told on a Wednesday that the paperwork to get the car out takes 72 hours and that takes it to Sat and it was Memorial weekend so the car would not arrive until the Tuesday after labor day.  Well, it actually arrived Wednesday the 7th of June.  So absurd.  The auto body shop did the estimate on Friday of that same week and we were in contact this past Monday.  They sent the estimate to USAA on Monday and today, Friday, I get a TEXT that the case is closed and my car is totaled.  And of course, my adjusted didn't answer her phone or call back.   I think they make money from totaling out the car. They told me I would get 17,194.00 if the car is totaled. The estimate from the auto body shop was for 13,506 and they still totaled it. I told USAA that the shop will work with me. USAA said if you decide to do a salvage you only get about 7,000. They said they sell my car for parts and if they cannot sell it, For example in the case of a salvage, they don't make any money so that is why the payout is less. All of it seems so shady. Why would there be a 10,000 difference? Things just do not add up. You have been forewarned to steer clear of this nightmare of a company.
1
May 31, 2023

HB23

Incompetent company

This is the most incompetent insurance company I’ve ever dealt with. My car was hit by one of their members and is still not fixed nearly 3 months later. Their excuse is that they don’t have their members statement. If they’re handling getting their members statement like they did mine then I’m not surprised. They made ZERO effort to get my statement, didn’t reach out once. The only reason they have my statement is because I called over...
This is the most incompetent insurance company I’ve ever dealt with. My car was hit by one of their members and is still not fixed nearly 3 months later. Their excuse is that they don’t have their members statement. If they’re handling getting their members statement like they did mine then I’m not surprised. They made ZERO effort to get my statement, didn’t reach out once. The only reason they have my statement is because I called over and over and over leaving multiple messages, that were never responded to. I finally got through to a person after many tries and gave them my statement even though they weren’t the person that was in charge of this claim. I would caution anyone against using USAA for their insurance seeing as how they clearly have no intention of paying out for a claim.
1
May 25, 2023

JonB36

USAA's exemplary service legacy has hit rock bottom.

USAA’s auto repair service has hit rock bottom. Unfortunately, I’m just one of many experiencing it: but I think I have uncovered a reason why. Once listed in “Consumers Reports” as the best all-around auto insurance provider, a year or so ago USAA made a decision which has led to long repair delays and absolute frustration for us their customers/members. And to top it off, USAA doesn’t seem concerned. If you don’t believe me, jus...
USAA’s auto repair service has hit rock bottom. Unfortunately, I’m just one of many experiencing it: but I think I have uncovered a reason why. Once listed in “Consumers Reports” as the best all-around auto insurance provider, a year or so ago USAA made a decision which has led to long repair delays and absolute frustration for us their customers/members. And to top it off, USAA doesn’t seem concerned. If you don’t believe me, just try to get someone from their claims department to answer or return your telephone calls when you need them to!! From my own recent auto repair experience and what I have been able to learn from other sources, USAA has replaced a large number of its in-house claims adjusters with a third-party firm called (I believe) "Snapsheet" to take over their claims adjusting process. Now, all auto repair estimates go directly from the repair facilities to this outsider company ...not to USAA...which reviews them, deals (negotiates) directly with the shops and then sends a “revalued version” to USAA. Only then will USAA issue a check and the go-ahead to start repairs. USAA now will do nothing until in receipt of Snapsheet’s, “approved” total. Time is no longer a consideration and there seems to be no limit to the number of times the shop has to revise its’ estimate in order to obtain Snapsheets’ approval. (In my case it has been four times so far.) According to a shop foreman I talked with who had been offered a job with them, Snapsheets employees do not have to be experienced adjusters; aren’t required to visit the facility or to examine the vehicle in question; and can form their estimates working from home if they wish. And Snapsheet is also free to “bargain” directly with repair facilities without USAA input. According to him the recruiter old him up front that Snapsheet is being hired to save USAA money, and that is of paramount importance. So, where does all this leave us, members and customers when everything comes to an impasse? Essentially, in limbo. We can’t talk to anyone at Snapsheet, and hardly any USAA adjusters answers or returns calls, even though their answering machine states their aim is to return calls within 4 hours. That claim should be erased!! Customer care????? Judging from numerous negative remarks I’m not alone. In my own case I haven't received any return calls and the repair shop has had their estimate returned four times now with a warning that if they do not concede to reduce their estimates to Snapsheets’ satisfaction they (Snapsheet) will not forward it on to USAA. In the meantime, my car sits there, broken and USAA seems oblivious or uninterested in intervening to get this impasse resolved. They won't even talk to the repair facility to sort things out! That's how poor their customer service has become! USAA’s recent ad campaign claiming to have the interests of veterans, service members and their families at heart...is something of a sad joke. But as a veteran and a long time member…. I’m not laughing!! Someone should remind USAA's leadership of the age-old business rule..."poor service leads to lost customers". At this writing, nothing has been resolved. The shop is thinking of throwing my car out of their lot. I'm totally frustrated and disappointed. For many years I have relied on USAA, but they are just not the same company today. Now its "buyer Beware!!" That's my 2 cents !!! JonB
1
May 4, 2023

Cvinny10_

Do NOT get this insurance

Worst experience. I got hit by someone with this insurance and it took them 7 weeks to total my car. We came upon an agreement for the amount I would be paid so I signed the title over and a week later they said they could no longer pay that amount. Please do yourself and the rest of us Americans a favor and do NOT get this insurance
1
February 25, 2023

CGN_Demandante

Damaged Rental Van Payoff

I returned a perfectly good rental van to Budget Rental during the summer, but they damaged it sometime afterwards. It was not even a small damage: there were dents all along the driver side door, the sliding door panel, and the trunk door. It was something that would not have been missed, if I returned the van in that condition. However, Budget Rental then filed a claim with USAA in 10/2022, a full 6 months later. It was blatantly fraudulent...
I returned a perfectly good rental van to Budget Rental during the summer, but they damaged it sometime afterwards. It was not even a small damage: there were dents all along the driver side door, the sliding door panel, and the trunk door. It was something that would not have been missed, if I returned the van in that condition. However, Budget Rental then filed a claim with USAA in 10/2022, a full 6 months later. It was blatantly fraudulent. After what I consider useless perfunctory online investigating, USAA just decided to just pay them off, and I am stuck with a higher insurance premium. USAA is a totally different insurance company from when I joined 40 years ago. Pretty disappointing.
1
October 7, 2022

JesseM

Surprisingly Awful

Outside of the mobile app being frustrating to use, I didn't have any issues with USAA, until I had a windshield claim. Was easy at the start, they use Safelite for all windshield claims, only the first installation resulted in pieces of my car flying off on the freeway. 2nd visit resulted in fixing missing molding from windshield, but the multifunction camera on the windshield kept malfunctioning because of the install being off center. This ...
Outside of the mobile app being frustrating to use, I didn't have any issues with USAA, until I had a windshield claim. Was easy at the start, they use Safelite for all windshield claims, only the first installation resulted in pieces of my car flying off on the freeway. 2nd visit resulted in fixing missing molding from windshield, but the multifunction camera on the windshield kept malfunctioning because of the install being off center. This is where everything got bad. I was unable to reopen the claim with USAA, and they have a circular help system that will make sure you can never actually get through to anyone about an existing claim. Their chatbot is especially diabolical. It wasn't until I left a review on BBB, that I received a call from a special team that deals with BBB complaints. After the 4th windshield was installed and 4 months, I finally have a working car again, but there is no way I'm risking another claim with USAA.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.4autoinsurancequote.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare over 200 auto insurance companies at once!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption