UPDATED: Mar 13, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
FR-44 insurance is similar to SR-22 insurance or FS-1 insurance: it’s a financial responsibility certificate that certain drivers are required to file with the state. If you were recently convicted of a DUI, for example, then you may be required to file an FR-44 certificate and get FR-44 insurance.
Today, most states in America use the SR-22 certificate for high-risk drivers. The FR-44 certificate is only used in the states of Virginia and Florida. Both Virginia and Florida also use SR-22 certificates. However, the FR-44 certificate has higher limits than the SR-22 certificate.
How Does FR-44 Insurance Work?
FR-44 insurance typically comes with higher coverage limits than SR-22 insurance. In Virginia, for example, FR-44 insurance requirements are set at 50/100/40:
- $50,000 for bodily injury liability coverage per person
- $100,000 for bodily injury liability coverage per accident
- $40,000 of property damage liability coverage
Each of these amounts is twice the normal required minimum for Virginia drivers. If you require an FR-44 certificate, then it indicates that you are a higher-risk driver, and the state of Virginia believes you should have higher liability limits to protect other drivers on the road.
In Florida, the FR-44 insurance requirements are even higher. FR-44 insurance requirements in Florida are 100/300/50. Drivers with FR-44 insurance are required to have $100,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person, $300,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per accident, and $50,000 of property damage liability coverage. Again, these are much higher than the basic minimum insurance requirements for an ordinary Florida driver. They’re also higher than insurance requirements for SR-22 certificate holders.
When Do I Need FR-44 Insurance?
Drivers in Virginia will only be required to get an FR-44 certificate after certain convictions. If you are convicted of any of the following offenses, then you may require FR-44 insurance:
- Maiming while under the influence
- Driving while under the influence of intoxicants or drugs
- Driving while the driver’s license has been forfeited for a conviction (or a finding of not innocent in cases involving a juvenile)
- Violation of the provisions of any federal law or law of any other state or any valid local ordinance similar to the above
In most cases, the FR-44 certificate and FR-44 insurance are required of drivers who have been convicted of DUI or DWI. If you have one or more DUI convictions on your record, then you may be required to get FR-44 car insurance in Virginia or Florida.
Why Do I Need FR-44 Insurance?
FR-44 insurance proves that you have the “financial responsibility” to cover future accidents. As a high-risk driver, the state feels you are more likely to get into car accidents than an ordinary driver, which is why you are required to maintain higher insurance limits.
The financial responsibility form FR-44 serves as evidence to the DMV that you purchased car insurance above and beyond the required coverage limits.
What Happens If I Don’t Get Form FR-44?
Before buying FR-44 insurance, you first need to file form FR-44 with your DMV. If the DMV does not receive the FR-44 when your policy is renewed or issued, then you will face severe penalties.
If you are required to have FR-44 insurance but have not filed an FR-44 certificate with the state, then you will be prohibited from:
- Registering motor vehicles in the state
- Obtaining vehicle decals in the state
How Long Do You Have to Keep FR-44 Insurance?
The length of time you are required to keep FR-44 insurance depends on your unique case. Some drivers are categorized as a higher risk class, which means they are required to hold FR-44 insurance for a longer period of time – say, 4 to 5 years.
Most drivers, however, are only required to hold FR-44 insurance for 1 to 3 years. Your DMV or court should tell you how long you are required to keep your FR-44 certificate of financial responsibility on file.
What’s the Difference Between FR-44 Insurance and SR-22 Insurance?
FR-44 insurance has higher coverage limit requirements than SR-22 insurance. Typically, drivers that require an SR-22 certificate have slightly higher minimum insurance requirements than an ordinary driver. With FR-44 insurance, however, your minimum requirements could be twice or quadruple the amount required for a driver with a clean driving record.
Only two states in America have FR-44 insurance: Florida and Virginia. Both states implemented the FR-44 program between 2007 and 2008.
How Much Does FR-44 Insurance Cost?
The price of FR-44 car insurance varies widely depending on the driver. Generally, you’re going to pay higher premiums for FR-44 insurance for two reasons:
- You’re a higher-risk driver with one or more DUI convictions or similar alcohol-related offenses
- You are required to maintain higher coverage limits
For both of these reasons, you’re a more expensive customer for an insurance company to insure. In some cases, you may be required to request a quote from a high-risk car insurance company. In other cases, you might be able to receive an FR-44 insurance quote from a major nationwide insurance provider.
Compare quotes online today to discover your FR-44 car insurance options. FR-44 car insurance is a unique type of insurance, but you purchase the insurance the same way as you ordinarily would: you can talk to an insurance agent or compare quotes online to get started.
FR-44 insurance is typically required for drivers in Virginia or Florida who have been convicted of driving under the influence or other alcohol-related driving offenses. Fortunately, even if you require FR-44 insurance, you may still be able to get a good deal on car insurance by comparing FR-44 car insurance quotes online today.