Missouri Auto Insurance

Home > States > Missouri Auto Insurance

Missouri state flagMissouri, one of the most populous states in the Midwest, is home to two very large urban areas – St. Louis and Kansas City. With more than 6 million residents, Missouri ranks as the 18th most populous state in the nation. The largest metropolitan area in Missouri is Kansas City, which has a population of 1,990,831 people spread across fifteen counties. With the amount of people packed into its urban areas, it’s amazing that Missouri can manage to have such an affordable rate of car insurance in comparison to other states in the nation.

missouri auto insurance

Missouri Car Insurance Rates

While the average rate of car insurance in the United States is $1,439.14, Missouri’s average is over $300 cheaper, coming in at around $1,100. This is not the same for the rates in major cities, however. In Kansas City, the average premium for car insurance is about the same as the national average, at about $1,450. Once again, looking at the metropolitan makeup of Kansas City, this rate is rather inexpensive when considering the potential amount of damages due to the fact that the city is so densely populated.

Auto Insurance Requirements And Laws In Missouri

In Missouri, the state liability coverage minimums are:

  • Bodily Injury Liability Coverage – $25,000 per person
  • Bodily Injury Liability Coverage – $50,000 per accident
  • Property Damage Liability Coverage – $10,000 per accident

Uninsured Motorist coverage minimums:

  • Bodily Injury Coverage – $25,000 per person
  • Bodily Injury Coverage –  $50,000 per accident

Optional coverage options in Missouri:

  • Comprehensive Coverage
  • Collision Coverage
  • Medical Payments Coverage
  • Rental Car Reimbursement Coverage
  • Roadside Assistance / Towing Coverage

In Missouri, there are three ways that you demonstrate financial responsibility to the Department of Revenue. You can leave a deposit of $60,000, purchase liability insurance, or file a real estate bond. Coming up with $60,000 can be a difficult task for almost everyone, which is why most people end up purchasing some kind of auto insurance instead. When purchasing auto insurance in Missouri, you must meet some of the minimum requirements like with that of many other states.

There are three categories of minimum requirements of coverage that you have to comply with, which are bodily injury, property damage, and per accident. For all of these, the state declares that you have to purchase at least a certain amount of insurance, but it is not always recommended that you only get the minimum amount of coverage. In many cases it is must wiser to buy more than what they suggest; this will be explained more for particular liability areas.

First of all, the state requires that you purchase a minimum of $25,000 in liability for bodily injury per person. The total amount to be covered varies for each family or individual since you won’t always have a certain amount of people in the vehicle. If, for example, you have a family of four in your car more often than not, it’s recommended that you have at least $100,000 worth of liability in bodily damage to have enough to cover everyone. It is also required that you have at least $50,000 in coverage per individual accident.

Aside from bodily injury, another very important liability area is for the vehicles themselves. This category, listed under property damage, covers all the damages to your motor vehicle at the time of the accident. The state of Missouri only requires that you cover a minimum of $10,000 for property damage. This minimum is often time’s not enough, however. You should usually cover an amount more or less equal to the cost of your vehicle. If you drive a $25,000 car you may want to look into getting the same amount in coverage just in case you ever find yourself in a situation where you motor vehicle is completely totaled. To insure yourself against uninsured drivers, the state also required $25,000 in coverage per person and $50,000 per accident in uninsured motorist coverage.

The state has three different penalties for lack of insurance in the case of an accident. You can accumulate four points under your driver’s license, be put under monitoring by the state or you could have your driver’s license completely rescinded. To prevent the possibility of ever having your license suspended, it is suggested that you always have insurance and proof of insurance on hand in case you ever find yourself in a situation where you would have to show someone that you are insured.

Missouri Accident Statistics

It’s also important to remember that the road is a very dangerous place and many accidents occur over the course of a year. In 2009 alone, there were 75,264 accidents in Missouri, of which 20,178 inflicted injury and 577 were fatal. Getting into an accident without auto insurance can put you in an even worse position in addition to the accident, as it adds the burden of financial responsibility. That’s why buying insurance is required beforehand – it eliminates the worry of paying for the accident and puts all the focus on the damages at hand.

Buying insurance is very important so it’s essential that you are well-read and highly educated on the terms and requirements of auto insurance before making any major purchases. At 4AutoInsuranceQuote.com, we have made it easier than ever to find the quotes for the best possible insurance policies in your area. If you’re interested in getting a quote, simply scroll back up to the top of the page and enter your zip code.

Missouri Auto Insurance Agents

Additional Missouri Automobile Insurance Information

Be the first to write a comment.

Your feedback