South Carolina Auto Insurance

Home > States > South Carolina Auto Insurance

South Carolina state flagGetting auto insurance in South Carolina is a quick and simple process. Continue reading for information about the state of South Carolina and its insurance policies.

“The Palmetto State” is one of the smallest states in the nation in area, but not in population. This state, South Carolina, is well-known as the first state to secede from the Union during the Civil War. With one border on the coast of the Atlantic Ocean, South Carolina also borders Georgia to the south and North Carolina to the north. In 2010, it was estimated that South Carolina had about 4,625,384 resident, making it the 24th largest state by population. Though that may not be very large, one thing that South Carolina does have that is quite abundant is the amount of highways and freeways in the state. South Carolina has tons of major Interstate and Federal highways, including the I-95, I-20, I-26, U.S. 1, U.S. 17, and many, many more. Highways means cars, and cars mean people. With millions of people in cars driving around the state, it’s important that we take a look at the car insurance policies in South Carolina.

south carolina auto insurance

South Carolina Car Insurance Rates

When you think of car insurance, the first thing that pops into your mind is price. The price arguably matters the most, so it’s the first thing you look at. Rest assured, the price of car insurance in South Carolina is very affordable. South Carolina has an average premium of $1,339.44 throughout the state, which is about $100 less than the national average. This rate doesn’t fluctuate much in urban areas either. In the cities of Columbia and Charleston, the prices increase by about $100, making them on par with the premiums of the United States in general.

South Carolina Car Insurance Minimums And Laws

In South Carolina, the state liability coverage minimums are:

  • Bodily Injury Liability coverage – $25,000 per person
  • Bodily Injury Liability coverage – $50,000 per accident
  • Property Damage Liability coverage – $25,000 per accident

Uninsured Motorist coverage minimums:

  • Bodily Injury coverage – $25,000 per person
  • Bodily Injury coverage – $50,000 per accident
  • Property Damage coverage – $25,000 per accident

Optional coverage options in SC include:

  • Comprehensive Coverage
  • Collision Coverage
  • Medical Payments Coverage
  • Rental Car Reimbursement Coverage
  • Roadside Assistance / Towing and Labor Coverage

Now that the price is out of the way, you should be asking yourself is: What am I getting for this $1,400 in insurance premiums? Well, the state of South Carolina requires that you get many different types of coverage, so it can be assumed that you’ll be getting quite a bit for the premium you pay. First of all, the state follows a “tort” system, which makes it so that someone must be at fault for the accident and that person’s insurance company is responsible for paying for all the damages of the accident.

As with all other states, South Carolina has a set of liability limits that you must meet when you purchase car insurance. These liability limits are for bodily injury and property damage. The state of South Carolina requires that you have at least $25,000 in coverage per person for bodily injury, with a maximum of $50,000 per accident. This coverage insures that any medical expenses inflicted as a result of the accident will be paid for. Of course, if you know of any medical issue you have that would make a trip to the hospital more expensive for you than others, you should probably put more money into this area of coverage to make sure all your bills can be paid. Along with bodily injury, South Carolina sets a minimum limit on the coverage for property damage at $25,000. This covers the damages to both your personal vehicle and the vehicle you damaged if you are found to be at fault for the accident. If you drive a nicer car, you should probably get more coverage in this category to make sure that your car can be repaired to the fullest.

South Carolina state law also requires other areas of coverage that many states do not. The state has a set of Uninsured bodily injury and property damage liabilities. Since the state follows a Tort system, these required coverages make sure that you will still be covered if you are not at fault and the person who caused the accident does not have insurance. With a minimum limit of $25,000 for both bodily injuries and property damages, this would be personal safety coverage to prevent you from paying anything out of pocket because someone caused an accident without any insurance.

Comparing Car Insurance Quotes In SC

With the pricing and packages explained, it’s still important to do as much research as possible before making any big buys. Along with that, you should also consult more than one insurance provider to see what they can offer you apart from the policy itself. Some insurance companies have special agreements such as to not raise prices when you’re not at fault. All of these should be considered when deciding on a final car insurance policy. At we try our best to provide the most accurate and comprehensive information for you so you can find the best deals for car insurance. If you’re interested in getting a quote, you can scroll back up to the top of the page and enter your zip code to begin.

SC Car Insurance Agents Directory

South Carolina Auto Insurance Resources

Be the first to write a comment.

Your feedback