Vermont Auto Insurance

FREE Car Insurance Comparison

Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She works as an associate editor and writer for 4autoinsurancequote.com for over a year and enjoys creating content that offers expert advice on car insurance topics.

Full Bio →

Written by

Leslie Kasperowicz holds a BA in Social Sciences from the University of Winnipeg. She spent several years as a Farmers Insurance CSR, gaining a solid understanding of insurance products including home, life, auto, and commercial and working directly with insurance customers to understand their needs...

Full Bio →

Reviewed byLeslie Kasperowicz
Former Farmers Insurance CSRhttps://res.cloudinary.com/quotellc/image/upload/insurance-site-images/4autoins-live/6ea5d860-leslie-kasperowicz.jpg

UPDATED: Apr 28, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

VT state flagVermont is infamous for maple syrup as well as the fall colors. Drivers who enter Vermont are able to enjoy the state for several days or even several weeks without having to worry about auto insurance. However, Vermont auto insurance is extremely important to the residents of Vermont.

vermont auto insurance

Vermont Auto Insurance Laws And Requirements

In Vermont, the state liability coverage minimums are:

  • Bodily Injury Liability Coverage – $25,000 per person
  • Bodily Injury Liability Coverage – $50,000 per accident
  • Property Damage Liability Coverage – $10,000 per accident

Take a look at how Vermont’s minimum rates compare with surrounding states.

View as image

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage:

  • Bodily Injury Coverage – $50,000 per person
  • Bodily Injury Coverage – $100,000 per accident
  • Property Damage Coverage – $10,000 per accident

Optional coverage options in VT include:

  • Comprehensive Coverage
  • Collision Coverage
  • Medical Payments Coverage
  • Rental Car Reimbursement Coverage
  • Towing and Labor / Roadside Assistance Coverage

Vermont drivers are paying approximately $50 a month less than the national average monthly premium for auto insurance. This means that drivers are saving a lot of money by having their insurance policy in the state of Vermont. All drivers in the state of Vermont are required to have a valid auto insurance policy. The minimum auto insurance requirements in the state of Vermont are 25/50/10.

The $25,000 minimum liability coverage covers the death or injury of one person who is involved in an accident. This means that if a passenger dies due to an automobile accident, their family is eligible to receive up to $25,000 from the minimum coverage policy. $50,000 is the minimum amount of coverage that the state of Vermont requires for liability coverage for an entire accident. This is the minimum amount that is required and drivers often select higher coverage. $10,000 is the minimum amount of property damage liability coverage that is required. $10,000 in coverage can quickly be fulfilled if a driver hits a building, destroys a light pole or causes a large amount of property damage as a result of their accident.

Drivers are required to have valid proof of insurance in their vehicle at all times. A driver who is unable to produce a valid insurance card following an accident or traffic stop may be fined $100 and have 2 points added to their drivers license. This cost can increase if a driver is found to not have a valid proof of insurance at a later time.

Vermont also has strict rules on teen drivers. Teen drivers have a blood alcohol limit of 0.02. Any driver who exceeds this amount when they are blood alcohol tested is subject to immediate license suspension. Drivers are also subject to large fines as well as jail sentences. Teen drivers also must undergo a GDL program. The Graduated Drivers License program is used by a number of states. Drivers first receive their learning permit which allows the teen to drive with their parents. Teenagers who successfully complete a probationary period on their learning permit are then allowed to receive a level 2 license. This license allows a teenager to drive on their own with other restrictions such as number of passengers and times during which a teen can drive. Drivers who successfully complete a period at level 2 will receive a full license.

Vermont does not require drivers to have underinsured/uninsured motorist coverage. However, because Vermont is a tort state, drivers should strongly consider purchasing this coverage. It may enable them to be protected in the future. Drivers should also consider the limit that they choose for this policy.

Vermont being a tort state means that one of the drivers in an accident must be found at fault. The driver who is at fault typically has their insurance company pay for any damages that are incurred. This means that individuals may be held liable for any costs that are not covered by their insurance policies. Drivers should strongly consider purchasing additional insurance coverage when possible. These insurance policies may protect drivers from a number of different problems including potential legal situations.

Drivers in Vermont should strongly consider purchasing comprehensive as well as collision coverage. A collision policy will cover a vehicle if it collides with another vehicle or object. This occurs in the majority of accidents. While a driver is not required to have this type of insurance by the state of Vermont, they will be unable to pay for any of the damages using their liability insurance. A comprehensive insurance policy protects a vehicle against theft, vandalism and other common damage claims. This means that a vehicle that is stolen will be paid for by an insurance company. Comprehensive and collision policies are often required by banks and financing companies.

Luckily the insurance rates in Wisconsin are much cheaper in comparison to the other states in the nation.

View as image

The statewide average for auto insurance is just under $900per year, which is less than $70 a month. Compared to the national average, this rate is more than $500 less. What’s even better is that the rate doesn’t change much when going from an average rural area to the big city.

We can also take a closer look at the ZIP codes within the state to see how rates changed based on different areas.

View as image

There are a lot of factors that auto insurance companies take into consideration when determining your rates. Take a look at our overview here.

View as image

While many of these factors are simply based on your own driving record, two things that affect even the safest of drivers are age and gender. As with most states, males typically pay higher auto insurance rates than females.

View as image

Enter your zip code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Vermont Auto Insurance rates by Company

Though the state boasts very cheap auto insurance rates overall, let’s take a look at how rates vary between some of the largest companies.

View as image

But which companies are the largest, holding the most market share percentage in the region?

View as image

Vermont Auto Insurance Quotes

Drivers in Vermont should be aware of the minimum auto insurance requirements as well as state laws. It is a wise idea to purchase as much auto insurance as a driver can afford. The more coverage a driver has, the less likely they are to end up in court. Drivers should also be aware of the legal restrictions and costs that could be levied against them for violating state law.

To get a quick, free auto insurance quote in Vermont, you can use the quote calculator tool at the top of our website.  Enter your Vermont zip code to begin.  After filling out our brief two page form, you will be given the best rates from the most reputable Vermont insurers.

VT Auto Insurance Agents Directory


Enter your zip code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Vermont Auto Insurance – Additional Resources

Are you looking for free insurance quotes?

Your one-stop online Car Insurance guide. Get a Free Quote Now!

(855) 898-5028
State Minimum Auto Insurance Rates Nationwide
Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates by State
Monthly Vermont Auto Insurance Rates by ZIP Code
Factors Affecting Auto Insurance Rates in Vermont
Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates by Age & Gender in Vermont
Vermont Auto Insurance Rates by Company vs. State Average
Vermont Auto Insurers by Market Share %
State Minimum Auto Insurance Rates Nationwide
Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates by State
Monthly Vermont Auto Insurance Rates by ZIP Code
Factors Affecting Auto Insurance Rates in Vermont
Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates by Age & Gender in Vermont
Vermont Auto Insurance Rates by Company vs. State Average
Vermont Auto Insurers by Market Share %