Rachel Bodine graduated from college with a BA in English. She has since worked as a Feature Writer in the insurance industry and gained a deep knowledge of state and countrywide insurance laws and rates. Her research and writing focus on helping readers understand their insurance coverage and how to find savings. Her expert advice on insurance has been featured on sites like PhotoEnforced, All...

Full Bio →

Written by

Leslie Kasperowicz holds a BA in Social Sciences from the University of Winnipeg. She spent several years as a Farmers Insurance CSR, gaining a solid understanding of insurance products including home, life, auto, and commercial and working directly with insurance customers to understand their needs. She has since used that knowledge in her more than ten years as a writer, largely in the insurance...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Leslie Kasperowicz
Former Farmers Insurance CSR

UPDATED: Nov 12, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident auto insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one auto insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

West Virginia state flagA landlocked state in the heart of Appalachia, West Virginia is famous for coal mining and hiking. Its natural beauty and resources make West Virginia the ideal tourist destination. A state with a relatively low population, West Virginia still has an intricate network of roads and highways. Let’s take a look at West Virginia’s auto insurance and how things work in the state.

Table of Contents

West Virginia Auto Insurance Minimum Requirements

Take a look at how West Virginia’s minimum rates compare with surrounding states.

View as image

In West Virginia, the state liability coverage minimums are:

  • Bodily Injury Liability Coverage – $25,000 per person
  • Bodily Injury Liability Coverage – $50,000 per accident
  • Property Damage Liability Coverage – $25,000 per accident

Optional coverage options in WV include:

  • Comprehensive Coverage
  • Collision Coverage
  • Medical Payments Coverage
  • Rental Car Reimbursement
  • Roadside Assistance / Towing Coverage
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist overage

Drivers in West Virginia must be protected by a valid West Virginia auto insurance policy. The state of West Virginia requires that all drivers have 20/40/10 coverage.  A driver who has 20/40/10 coverage is protected by the following types of liability insurance: $20,000 in liability coverage is available per person in an accident. This only covers passengers or the other driver. This $20,000 in liability coverage does not cover the driver of the insured vehicle. $40,000 in liability coverage is the maximum amount that the insurance company will pay out for one accident. This limit can be raised, however, this is the state minimum. $10,000 in property damage is also available for an accident. Drivers who exceed these limits may be subject to civil suits in court.

West Virginia is a tort state. This means that drivers are able to bring legal cases in front of a judge for damages from an automobile accident. Drivers who are involved in an accident may sue for medical damages and other costs that rise from an accident. Drivers who are involved in a legal case should consult a lawyer for more information. A driver in West Virginia should attempt to purchase as much auto insurance as possible. The higher the amount of coverage, the less likely a driver will be dragged into court in order to repay damages.

West Virginia requires that drivers have proof of insurance in their vehicles at all times. A driver who is unable to produce proof of insurance will have their license and registration suspended for 30 days. Repeat offenders may have their license and registration suspended 90 days.

West Virginia does not require drivers to have collision coverage. Collision coverage can protect a driver if they are involved in a collision with another vehicle. Drivers who purchased a vehicle using a loan or are driving a car that is on lease from a dealer may have to pay for collision coverage. Drivers who own their vehicle outright may decide that collision coverage is too expense and elect to cancel that portion of their policy.

West Virginia does not require drivers to have comprehensive coverage. Comprehensive coverage protects a vehicle if the vehicle is involved in a theft, vandalized or has windows broken. Acts of God may also be covered by a comprehensive policy. Drivers who are using a vehicle purchased on a loan or financed through a lease may have to purchase comprehensive coverage. Drivers can choose the deductible as well as level of coverage to ensure that the coverage meets their needs.

Luckily the insurance rates in West Virginia are much cheaper in comparison to the other states in the nation.

View as image

The statewide average for auto insurance is just under $1,100 per year, which is less than $100 a month. Compared to the national average, this rate is more than $300 less. What’s even better is that the rate doesn’t change much when going from an average rural area to the big city.

We can also take a closer look at the ZIP codes within the state to see how rates changed based on different areas.

View as image

There are a lot of factors that auto insurance companies take into consideration when determining your rates. Take a look at our overview here.

View as image

While many of these factors are simply based on your own driving record, two things that affect even the safest of drivers are age and gender. As with most states, males typically pay higher auto insurance rates than females.

View as image

Compare over 200 auto insurance companies at once!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Wyoming Auto Insurance rates by Company

Though the state boasts very cheap auto insurance rates overall, let’s take a look at how rates vary between some of the largest companies.

View as image

But which companies are the largest, holding the most market share percentage in the region?

View as image

West Virginia Driving Laws And Other Information

West Virginia has a three tier GDL program. This Graduated Drivers License program is one of the most stringent in the country. Teenagers are required to first use an instruction permit. This permit requires drivers to complete 50 hours of driving behind the wheel with a parent. Teens are also required to pass a road skills test and a written test. Teens who complete these requirements are then eligible to receive an intermediate phase permit. Drivers automatically receive their unrestricted license once they reach the age of 18.

West Virginia adult drivers are able to use a cell phone while driving. Drivers should exercise extreme caution when they are using a cell phone while driving. Any driver in West Virginia who is under the age of 18 is not allowed to use a cell phone while driving. Drivers may be subject to a $25 fine which can increase for multiple violations. Drivers can also be cited if they are using a cell phone and cause a traffic accident.

West Virginia drivers are subject to stringent DUI laws. A 0.08 is the legal limit for adult drivers. Drivers who are over this limit may be subject to jail time, probation, fines, court fees and license suspension. Teen drivers who are over 0.02 BAC can face the same penalties. Teen drivers may be convicted based on the sole presence of 0.02 BAC in their body.

West Virginia is one of the safest states to drive through. However, drivers should not take auto insurance as a laughing matter. West Virginia has some of the most stringent laws for auto insurance. Drivers who do not follow the requirements may be subject to swift legal action. If you are a West Virginia driver and are in need of insurance, quickly scroll back up to the top of this page and enter your zip code. You will then be asked a brief questionnaire before getting quotes from the top auto insurance companies.

WV Auto Insurance Agents Directory

Compare over 200 auto insurance companies at once!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Additional Automobile Insurance Resources